On Pacing

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Firgof
Completed: Star Ruler, Star Ruler 2, Ouroboros: The Sacrifice
Organization: Forgotten Workshop
Tumblr: Firgof
Deviantart: firgof
Github: Firgof
Soundcloud: Firgof
itch: Firgof

On Pacing

#1 Post by Firgof »

I'm pretty new to writing VNs and lately I've been having trouble gauging my story's pacing. How much of this complex, weird, world I'm writing to introduce at a time; how quickly to resolve points along the story's line; how quickly to move the main character from their ordinary life to their character development arc.

Does anyone have any rules of thumb for all that? Or do I just need to find an editor or playtesters? I'm really worried about burning my readers out by just throwing too many new names, concepts, and details at them all at once -- but I'm also worried about going too slow as well. How do y'all find your pacing sweet spots?

Ezmar
Regular
Projects: 11th Hour [Working Title]
Soundcloud: Ezmar

Re: On Pacing

#2 Post by Ezmar »

Think of what you want your reader to learn by the end of the scene you're writing, and find a way to get that information into the scene. As you're doing this, be introducing the characters, and develop them while they deliver the information. Show the reader about the characters and world while the characters tell the reader about it. It takes practice to do it well, but you can increase the density of information you're delivering by maximizing the use of implicit information.

Mutive
Veteran
Completed: Eidolon, Minion!, Love Furever, Epilogue

#3 Post by Mutive »

One of the tricks I've found is that, the more important something is, the more words (in general) should be devoted for it.

So if you're introducing a waitress who's job is just to bring coffee, the correct pacing might be:

"The waitress brings you the coffee."

If she's clearly going to be a major love interest, correct pacing might be something like: