Balanced Protagonists

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Fisseha
Projects: Fly Fly Fly, Grey Area, SICK, Raindrops, My Girlfriend Akane
Organization: Lonely Fish
Tumblr: PoissonMorts
Deviantart: MiyukiKudo(INACTIVE)
itch: FishPrincess

Balanced Protagonists

#1 Post by Fisseha »

Hello!

I happen to have problems with both my protagonist. I fear that one might have a shallow story compared to the other.
Both have different stories but it overlaps each other, forming the main story route.

I hope to hear some tips about balancing story, thank you!
I'm an artist, and probably a weaboo.

Mutive
Veteran
Completed: Eidolon, Minion!, Love Furever, Epilogue

Re: Balanced Protagonists

#2 Post by Mutive »

Not all stories have to be equal and not all will be equally well loved. I'd find it kind of weird to play a VN where the two arcs were exactly the same length and I liked both exactly the same.

With that said, if one is awesome and amazing and the other clearly doesn't have any reason to exist, maybe cut the one that doesn't make sense to have? Similarly, if you have one well developed character and one who just isn't, it makes sense either to flesh out the less developed character or cut them all together.
Enjoy Eidolon, my free to play game at: https://mutive.itch.io/eidolon, Minion! at: https://mutive.itch.io/minion or Epilogue at: https://mutive.itch.io/epilogue

Katy133
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Eight Sweets, The Heart of Tales, [redacted] Life, Must Love Jaws, A Tune at the End of the World, Three Guys That Paint, The Journey of Ignorance, Portal 2.5.
Projects: The Butler Detective
Tumblr: katy-133
Deviantart: Katy133
Soundcloud: Katy133
itch: katy133

Re: Balanced Protagonists

#3 Post by Katy133 »