Looking to create music

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving music, sound, and movies.
Pegasus Fantasy

Looking to create music

#1 Post by Pegasus Fantasy »

Well I'm a guitarist and bassist and I want to start making music that sounds closer to the music you hear in visual novels and anime. Turned 15 like 11 days ago so i'm not expecting to do this in like a month. I'm willing to put in the time. Any help?

Tsukumo Yuma

Re: Looking to create music

#2 Post by Tsukumo Yuma »

Well first, the type of music you use depends on the story and setting.
Like in some anime for a fight scene if it is noir or super robot or gothic in a sense, they have rock or metal for the back round music.
Sometimes fight scenes also have orchistra music as well.
But the music usualy have a fast pace or constant tempo for fighting.

When they have someone confessing there love, they have soft and sweet music.

It depends on the scene.

PurpleMind
Regular
Completed: I contributed to 22 visual novels so far!
Projects: Kosmos Connections, Black Heaven, The Inn Between, Sugar Service, Driftwood, The Glass Coffin, Heart Agency
Discord: Marek Domagała#1778

#3 Post by PurpleMind »

As someone who has also started their musical journey with the guitar, I'm gonna give you this one advice: Create. Just make something. Record a riff in Audacity. Put some effects into it. Make a track. Make a lot of tracks. And you don't need to start with doing music specifically in a visual novel manner. Just come up with something. As one of Pink Floyd song's title says "Any Color You Like". So pick a color... And start painting.

Good luck and see ya in the recruitment section... ;)

Tempus
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Ladykiller in a Bind
Projects: StoryDevs
Tumblr: jakebowkett
Deviantart: jakebowkett
Github: jakebowkett

#4 Post by Tempus »