What qualifies a person to voice act?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving music, sound, and movies.
aprilights

What qualifies a person to voice act?

#1 Post by aprilights »

Originally, my question had been "what is voice acting?" but that was kind of vague, so...
Anyway, I'm new to Lemma Soft forums (as you can tell by my post count, lol) (voice actors, please don't kill me >.< I'm just confused and probably don't know what I'm talking about) but, as I was browsing the recruitment threads, I was confused as to what, exactly, qualifies a person to be a voice actor/actress? Like, what's the difference between a person reading out the lines of a visual novel and a person voice acting? If I owned a good microphone, had an okay voice, and could speak in something other than a monotone (talking hypothetically here xD) could I voice act for VNs?
Last edited by aprilights on Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Projects: A Close Shave

Re: What qualifies a person to voice act?

#2 Post by trooper6 »

Voice acting is a skill, much like stage or film acting is a skill. It is also not an easy skill, because unlike stage actors you don't have a set and fellow actors to help you with being in character and portraying the emotions effectively. I have done voice acting as well as stage and some TV. I find voice/radio to be the most difficult...although much easier if your fellow actors are with you and you are acting in real time not just saying you disconnected lines.

Just in the same way as most average Joes and Janes with no practice or training in acting are often just not very good, so, too, voice actors with no practice or training in using the instrument that is their voice are often just not very good.

Go to the website Audio Atrocities to hear what happens when video game makers hire people who are not trained voice actors to voice their video games. It isn't pretty.
A Close Shave: