[SOLVED] Ideal budget for professional Jap OP & ED songs?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving music, sound, and movies.
Quinn-G
Projects: Blazing Skies
Deviantart: Quinn-G

[SOLVED] Ideal budget for professional Jap OP & ED songs?

#1 Post by Quinn-G »

My personal VN project is coming together nicely enough for my tastes. I'm confident that I can handle the writing, art and programming by myself (though I'll admit the latter is thanks to a lot of tutorials and tips found in the LSF threads), but I couldn't compose a good tune if my life depended on it, much less write Japanese lyrics. I started learning Jap on the side just to be able to read untranslated VNs in the future, but I'm not quite there yet. XD

Picture this. I made a Kickstarter and raised a decent sum that will serve solely to produce the songs I need. More specifically, a kick-ass opening song the likes of Sora no Kodou from Sunrider: Liberation Day and four more emotional ending songs for each heroine's route like in Grisaia no Kajitsu. Then, I contact a Japanese music company like, say, Elements Garden and go all:

"Yo! I've got *insert number of funds here* yen from a Kickstarter! Compose five songs for my game, onegaishimasu? :3"

What would be the ideal budget? And on the off chance that there are people on LSF familiar with the inner workings of the Jap music industry, how much does a single song cost to compose approximately?
Last edited by Quinn-G on Tue Nov 01, 2016 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Abnelia
Soundcloud: amelie bouita

Re: Ideal budget for professional Jap opening & ending songs

#2 Post by Abnelia »

It's a really hard question to answer.

Basically when someone ask how much I need to get paid to create music I watch some info :

is there a non-exclusive license ?
How many minutes of music the games need ?
Wich style of music do you need ?
Do I need real musician ? or singer ?