Looking for public domain Impressionist art

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving music, sound, and movies.
Zalor

Looking for public domain Impressionist art

#1 Post by Zalor »

Hello everyone at Lemmasoft! This is my first time posting here, and I have an oddly specific question. Also, if I posted this thread in the wrong place, then I apologize.

I checked out the resource catalogue thread, and was very excited by all the free resources. However, I am looking for a very specific free resource. I was wondering if anyone could help point me to a good place that I could find impressionist paintings that are public domain.

Thank you, and I apologize for the odd request.

YossarianIII
Veteran
Completed: Guns & Lovers; SRRT!; Kill Your Refrigerator; Banality Man; Beretta Mondatta
Projects: Solidarity Forever
Organization: KONOL Games

Re: Looking for public domain Impressionist art

#2 Post by YossarianIII »

I've had some success finding public domain art on Wikimedia. You'll want to be sure to check the license, though, because some of their stuff is for educational/personal use only.

Alternatively, if it doesn't need to be totally authentic, you could try finding public domain photos, and then just applying an impressionist-looking filter in a photo-editing program like PhotoShop or GIMP.

Image Image

LateWhiteRabbit
Eileen-Class Veteran
Projects: The Space Between

#3 Post by LateWhiteRabbit »

The Getty Museum has digitally made available their entire collection of tens of thousands of paintings to the public:
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
You can find information about the program here and the paintings themselves here.

justcolorado
Regular
Completed: Experiment Gone Rogue, Caravan Of Saints, HeartBaked, Hipster Axe
Projects: Iragon
Organization: Repulse.com