12 Steps [Dark][Drama][NaNo '16] - Screenshots + Vid!

NaNoRenO is an event where creators make a game from scratch during the month of March.
JustSkyLarkin

12 Steps [Dark][Drama][NaNo '16] - Screenshots + Vid!

#1 Post by JustSkyLarkin »

Hi all. My name is Sky and this is my first attempt at creating a video game that isn't some silly pong ripoff. This is a solo project as I left it way too late to even think about forming a team. Whoops.
I enjoy programming, but I don't have an artistic bone in my body so this game is going to look a little "different" as I'll be using other skills I have in my palette (basic Photoshop skills haha) to complete it.
I hope to get this finished by the end of March, but I'm not going to go nuts if it doesn't happen.
Um.. hi.

About:

12 Steps is a game about addiction and the struggles that take place in breaking free from it.

Synopsis:

You play as Abby, a 28-year-old alcoholic taking the first step in battling her addiction. She has burned many bridges, but has the chance to start rebuilding them again.

Can she do it?

Does she even want to?

That’s up to you.

Features:

Multiple game endings
81 relationship outcome combinations (3^4) - This is not as complex as it sounds! I'll explain later :)
5 people to converse with
6 locations
Fully voiced

Characters (brief):

Abigail "Abby" Haines. 28. Alcoholic.
Jack Haines. 35. Abby’s sibling. Father-of-two.
Kathryn "Kathy" Jefferson. 27. Female. Abby’s ex-fiancée.
Clara Dixon. 28. Female. Abby’s childhood best-friend.
Norman Rhodes. 55. Male. Abby’s neighbour.
Robert Walker. 32. Male. Abby’s sponsor.

Team:

Programming/UI Design/Writing/Photo manips/Everything else except voice acting = Sky

Progress:

Concept/Story 100%
Script 5%
UI 95% (I worked by butt off on this, almost complete)
Backgrounds 80% (free & paid for stock photographs edited in PS)
Character Art 5% (paid for stock photographs edited in PS)
Music/SFX 50% (CC – Thank you already to Robert Currie for his work)