Configuring Notepad++ for Ren'Py

A place for Ren'Py tutorials and reusable Ren'Py code.
Forum rules
Do not post questions here!

This forum is for example code you want to show other people. Ren'Py questions should be asked in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
rabcor
Regular
Projects: None (Need a programmer?)
Organization: Cestarian Games

Configuring Notepad++ for Ren'Py

#1 Post by rabcor »

I recently started using Ren'Py and noticed how it doesn't even recommend Notepad++ as a default editor, i found this weird since in my opinion Notepad++ is the most convenient free editor i know about, and it's my editor of choice for almost all of my coding.

But when i tried using it with Ren'Py, i found out why it wasn't recommended.

1) It doesn't by default detect .rpy as a "python" file, so it won't have any styling at all to help you with the code syntax.
2) By default, Notepad++ uses Tabs for indentation, so if you're using it you need to tap space 4 times instead of just pressing tab. It will also sometime generate tabs when you paste code into it.

It didn't take me long to figure out that this can easily be fixed, and as soon as i figured it out and didn't see any guide for it here, i decided to write this in case someone else is having this problem.

1) To solve this, go to Settings -> Style Configurator, then find "Python" in the Language menu, and below it you will see a text box for "User ext.". Enter "rpy" (without quotation) into this box and Notepad++ will detect .rpy files as python scripts.
2) Go to Settings -> Preferences -> Tab Settings, find "Tab Size" and make sure it is set to "4" then check the "Replace by space" Checkbox, and Notepad++ will use spaces instead of tab for indentation.

After these steps i find it very comfortable to use Notepad++ for writing/editing my Ren'Py scripts :) Hope this was helpful to someone.

Please read comments, this section/links are outdated