Logo Intro, Opening and Press to Start Screen [Tutorial]

A place for Ren'Py tutorials and reusable Ren'Py code.
Forum rules
Do not post questions here!

This forum is for example code you want to show other people. Ren'Py questions should be asked in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
mitoky
Veteran
Projects: The Purring Demon's Love, circus eterie

Logo Intro, Opening and Press to Start Screen [Tutorial]

#1 Post by mitoky »

Hello everyone!

For my own game i have tried to do the following when the game starts:
- a non-skipable logo intro and a skipable opening
- a "Press to Start" screen which jumps to the opening if not pressed after certain time (a repeating circle it left alone, basically)

Since i am a beginner, it took me a bit to figure everything out till i had it working the way i wanted, so i thought i might share (:

First of all we start with the non-skipable intro part and movie part.

1.) We start by preparing everything needed for those. For that we need to state all the images to be used in the intro. In this case, we will neeed:

Code: Select all

image black = "#000" #Black Background
image white = "#ffffff" #White Background
image logo = "logo.png" #Your Logo
2.) Afterwards we will make transformations. Reason for that is the "unskipable" part. When i tested the screen and used "dissolve" for example the transition itself could be skipped. Hence to advoid that, we will use transformations.
For our Intro we will have (1) the screen change from black to white (2) afterwards fade the logo in and out (3) and have the screen change from white to black again.

For that we do the following:

#Transformation for Logo    
transform transform_logo:
    on show:
        alpha 0 xalign 0.5 yalign 0.5
        linear 2.0 alpha 1
    on hide:
        linear 2.0 alpha 0