Lux-Nero requests improvement

Art threads specific to a single artist.
Lux Nero
Regular
Projects: Teacher Pets

Lux-Nero requests improvement

#1 Post by Lux Nero »

Hello everyone!

Lux-Nero here, and while I like to think I'm a good artist, I know I've got a lot to learn and I'm willing to improve myself. Thing is, I've got to a number of sites to look for helpful critiques, but every time, I usually get the same remarks that have been copied and pasted, peppered with insults that say that I suck and that I shouldn't bother to be an artist.

Therefore, I'm a little sensitive and defensive when it comes to this stuff, but, I give my word that I'll show respect to anyone who shows me respectful comments and critiques. I really do wanna improve, but if someone yells at you for making a mistake, you don't really learn - That's my opinion.

In any case, here's one of my latest works, and I'd like to get some critiques onto how I can improve myself.

Please be gentle.
Now... Count up your sins!

MaiMai
Yandere
Completed: [Phase Shift]
Projects: [ None ]
Organization: Paper Stars
Tumblr: maiscribbles
Deviantart: maiscribble

Re: Lux-Nero requests improvement

#2 Post by MaiMai »

Is it a complete piece or would you say it's still a work in progress or a work that's complete, but could use improvements? My general impression from this image is that there is no shading and that coloring for the building is rushed and messy seeing as how some of the colors bleed into another section such as the gray into the dark gray. It looks unfinished as a result.