!Opinions Needed!- would you play a game with this type of art?

Art threads specific to a single artist.
HyouryuuNa

!Opinions Needed!- would you play a game with this type of art?

#1 Post by HyouryuuNa »

Hi everyone. I just took an interest in visual novels and thought about making my own. I've made games in Rpgmaker before but the images weren't made by me. This time I've finally decided that I'll make my own character images from scratch cos finding what I need is a lot of work. So... here I am presenting a rough drawing of my character... (the hair and body are incomplete but the face is complete) And I need your opinion about whether I should continue with this style or not. I'm very confusrd because i'm not a professional artist. Please, tell me whatever that comes to your mind.
Attachments
20180613_012434.png

SinaAzad
Veteran
IRC Nick: SinaAzad
Deviantart: sinaazad
Soundcloud: Sina_Azad

Re: !Opinions Needed!- would you play a game with this type of art?

#2 Post by SinaAzad »

Honestly, nowadays any sort of art style works, and I cant see a reason why your style wouldn't fit in, It is actually a good style to go with visual novels (at least that's what I can see from the way the characters face looks.)
I am very proud to be a part of this generous, nice and friendly community!
but please, don't go around telling people that their work is somehow off! thats not how critique works!
Mainly a C# Programmer

My drawings:

morinoir
Regular
itch: blackpepper

#3 Post by morinoir »

I don't see why you should not continue with your current style. It's actually pretty unique compared to usual anime style. The only downside to this style is you need realistic body proportion to match the semi realistic facial style, as well as realistic expression. So if you think you got that covered, I say go for it. Let us see the rest of the drawing (body, outfit, etc) so we can give you better suggestion.

Mammon
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Pervert&Yandere, Stalker&Yandere