How can I improve this picture ?

Art threads specific to a single artist.
Keepal

How can I improve this picture ?

#1 Post by Keepal »

Hi everyone,

I know how to code in Python but I'm not very good at drawing so I use 3D third party software to make some character for my VN, recently I tried to improve my skill by modifying my character directly in Photoshop and put some light here, some shadow there, etc ...

My question is how can I improve this kind of picture ?

Read this before : I want to warn anyone that I know there's an adult section but I got a script issue when I want to join it plus this picture is just a nude girl without any offensive details (IMO) and my VN isn't sexualy related at all, I just didn't want to lose time putting some cloth on her, here's the link :

https://image.ibb.co/kw5Pvz/test3_retouch.png

On this one I add the light line on the boddy, place some shadows, remove some hair and others stuff, as it come from a 3D third party software and I want a 2D picture-like, my goal is to have the most flat picture possible.

Do you think this is enough or the 3D effect is still too visible ? What can I do to change it if it's the case ?

Thank you.

Selidor
Regular
Tumblr: gateofselidor

Re: How can I improve this picture ?

#2 Post by Selidor »

You’ve done a good job so far of making it look closer to hand-drawn 2D, and it doesn’t have that ‘creepy’ vibe that a lot of 3D models in VNs do.

Some observations:
The line doesn’t really look like a hand-drawn 2D line. You can see areas where it wraps around the models and disappears (hair, belly button, where the arm meets the stomach etc.) and those give away the 3D-ness. Manually tracing over the model instead would probably be the quickest way to avoid that, unless you have more options to play with in whichever setting you used to generate the line.