Please Critique My 3D Art (DAZ Studio, GIMP, BeFunky)

Art threads specific to a single artist.
anonymouse

Please Critique My 3D Art (DAZ Studio, GIMP, BeFunky)

#1 Post by anonymouse »

Hi! I am a self-taught (very amateur) 3D artist. I can't draw for crap, but I can math, and I can program. About 1.5 years ago I started trying to make 3D art for an interactive fiction I was working on at the time. I have since discovered renpy, and my game has become more of a visual novel. I don't know if my game will ever see the light of day, but I enjoy working on it. The pictures below were rendered in DAZ Studio, touched up in GIMP, and then I applied some filter effects using BeFunky. Any comment you'd like to leave is appreciated, but I'd especially like to know:
  • Do you like my art?
  • Do you detect 'uncanny valley' in my figures? (I have made an effort to avoid it.)
  • Would you play a VN with art like this?
  • Do you have any tips for improvement?
Thanks in advance. This forum has been an excellent resource for me.
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg

fleet
Eileen-Class Veteran
Deviantart: fleetp

Re: Please Critique My 3D Art (DAZ Studio, GIMP, BeFunky)

#2 Post by fleet »

I'd say your 3D art is very good (for 3D art). I use 3D art in my visual novels.
Sadly, many visual novel players/readers here at lemmasoft won't bother to play/read a visual novel that uses 3D art.
The exception is work by donmai. He filters his 3D artwork so it looks like it's hand drawn. See link -> viewtopic.php?f=45&t=24703
Some of my visual novels are at http://www.the-new-lagoon.com. They are NSFW
Poorly done hand-drawn art is still poorly done art. Be a Poser (or better yet, use DAZ Studio 3D) - dare to be different.

anonymouse

#3 Post by anonymouse »