Belle - Visual novel maker

For discussion and support of other visual novel engines.
freemind
Regular

Belle - Visual novel maker

#1 Post by freemind »

Hi,

I've been developing a visual novel maker for a couple of months now and although it may not be ready for production yet, i think it's better if people start giving feedback now.

Belle is actually composed by two (different) applications - the editor and the engine.
The editor has a similar design to Novelty, in case you know it, and already provides many of the same features that Novelty offers. Besides that it's cross-platform, working on Windows (XP, Vista and 7), Mac OS X (10.4+), Linux and others.
The engine uses HTML5, so the games can run in all sorts of devices with the least of efforts.

I'll be releasing version 0.3 alpha soon, with support for animated images (e.g. gifs), better memory usage in the editor and a "fallback" mode for the engine, so it can run in older browsers, amongst other stuff.

You can read more information and see some screenshots here:
http://www.nongnu.org/belle/
The website is still lacking some information, especially documentation. I've already written some documentation but i haven't finished yet.

If you have any questions or suggestions feel free to ask.

mirelle
Regular
Projects: The Story of X
Organization: Vocamania

Re: Belle - Visual novel maker

#2 Post by mirelle »

Hmm, I'm actually even more confused on novelty GUI approach as opposed to Ren'py's scripting, so I'm not so sure about this @____@
I might find some time to try it out though, thanks for the heads-up! And doing it in HTML5 was a very good idea in my opinion :D
[[The X Story]]
Discover the hidden truth within-- but be reminded that more often than not, curiosity kills the cat.
lurking here as a representative of the team~

CheeryMoya
Miko-Class Veteran

#3 Post by CheeryMoya »