Bermuda Triangle Engine

For discussion and support of other visual novel engines.
Springroll Games

Bermuda Triangle Engine

#1 Post by Springroll Games »

Bermuda Triangle Engine is a small javascript visual novel engine created by Springroll Games.
https://bt-engine.tumblr.com

The mains features of this engine are customizable user interface and a special mode that looks like text messaging.

I'm very new to javascript! This is not meant to be a major visual novel engine - I'm mostly posting it so I can see which things work and which things glitch. I also want to learn which features are considered most necessary in a visual novel!

Please let me know if anything goes wrong. (I'm not even 100% sure that the site works.)
Attachments
bt-engine.zip
(589.95 KiB) Downloaded 92 times
Last edited by Springroll Games on Thu May 18, 2017 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Springroll Games

Re: Bermuda Triangle Engine

#2 Post by Springroll Games »

Update 1.1:
> Added button text centering
> Added dissolve transition
> Added keyboard support
> Fixed a mobile graphics glitch

The documentation has also been updated.
Thank you for your time!

2_an
Regular

#3 Post by 2_an »

Hello!

I'm starting in javascript, and been using your engine. it seems to me that you base your game on the "canvas" function (maybe I'm wrong)

According to my observation, your game system is based on the creation of three types of boxes (adv, nvl, msg)

the boxes are not pretty, so I added an edge to each one with this type of code:

Code: Select all

stk = bt_room.context;
stk.strokeStyle = "colour";
stk.strokeRect(coord_x, coord_y , coord  ,coord ,);
stk.lineWidth = nº;
(However, I was not able to put the edge on the choice boxes)

According to my assessment, your engine is good, although it is very basic.