Is Renpy better than Visual Novel Maker?

For discussion and support of other visual novel engines.
Qrim

Is Renpy better than Visual Novel Maker?

#1 Post by Qrim »

I've been using VNM for the past few months, and I thought it was great with the easy to see UI and seeing what commands you need to drop in was pretty useful since it's my first time using a visual novel engine. But now I'm starting to have doubts, with the amount of bugs and very specific ways the VNM engine works is starting to bog down my project. I always wondered if Renpy would fix these problems for me if I just learned how to code instead.

The other problem is I would have to relearn how to use an engine and would make my project start from the beginning. I would have to remake the mechanics and such, but the idea of thinking of how easy it would be to do it compared to VNM makes me feel at ease a little.

Here is an example, I set a timer for an important mechanic in the game, but when I switch scenes in VNM it resets that timer and it can't continue. This ruins my entire idea of how the game would work, and now I have to find a workaround. I'm not certain if Renpy is like that at all, I would think you make it how you would like it to work. Which to me sounds pretty nice.

I'm a bit overly stressed thinking I wasted my entire time when I could have went with something better. Is Renpy easy to learn and use? and what restrictions does it have? If I had someone walk me through with it I would be very grateful. Or if someone can help me determine if what I am doing right now can be done in Renpy that would be wonderful.

For example, I have a few game mechanics working, a point system easy enough with a few twists. And a minigame which has a strict way of working, and was complicated enough to implement that I'm worried about doing it in Renpy. I'm going to be posting it on steam once it's finished, but I want it looking polished and professional as possible.

OtomeRecruiting