Is rpg-maker good for making visual novel but with gameplay?

Discuss visual novels and story-based games that didn't originate on this forum.
lycheechan
Regular

Is rpg-maker good for making visual novel but with gameplay?

#1 Post by lycheechan »

I was having this idea for a story that involves going into people's head to rescue them (lol Persona reference). Is it recommended or is there a certain code that might allow me to add RPG elements to it? Sorry I'm not very good with programing.
I am a toaster....

Darkmoonfire
Regular
Completed: Christmas Project
Organization: Lunarescent Wings
Tumblr: darkmoonfire

Re: Is rpg-maker good for making visual novel but with gamep

#2 Post by Darkmoonfire »

I'm afraid that I don't have any experience with rpg maker, so I can't tell how easy it would be to make a visual novel using it. I believe that it has been used to make games like visual novels, but I can't think of any actual visual novels made with it.

I imagine that RPG maker can handle dialogue boxes since it's pretty much the same for both VNs and RPGs. However, I'm not sure if how easy it is to do the character art like a VN or dialogue choices in RPG, but those seem like they'd be the only major obstacles.
If you're okay with using ren'py, you could always try to use Jake's battle engine to add rpg elements to your visual novel.

Good luck with your game. :)

dramspringfeald
Miko-Class Veteran
Projects: The Echo, CBlue, Safety_Dance

#3 Post by dramspringfeald »

Down in WIP there is a RenPy engine but search seems to be on the fritz best of luck.

Also Link for one that has been tested but my be too old for the current version of RenPy

Link
Don't be a Poser! Learn to Draw
Learn to Draw with Stan Lee
Learn to Draw with Mark Crilley
If you want you can brows my art. My art can be found at...FA // IB // DA Neglected for a few years so I'm just now updating it

Learn to break a bone to break a bone,
Learn to build a house to build a house,