Pixel Artist Looking For Long-Term Project

Forum rules
Never bump threads. Per rule 16, updates may be posted once every 2 months. Per rule 18, disclose generative AI use when creating/updating a thread. Violating these rules may led to thread deletion.
nearlynoon
Tumblr: nearlynooncartoon

Pixel Artist Looking For Long-Term Project

#1 Post by nearlynoon »

Hello everyone,

I am a pixel artist interested in taking on a visual novel project in the short- or especially long-term that I can sharpen my art skills on. I've been interested in making visual novels for a long time, I got into them right after Tsukihime was translated. I'm really interested in the sort of fiction that can be written in VN form, but I have trouble sticking with the writing bits of their creation, mostly because I get fed up and just go make more art for them until they're all art and no story (a bad mixture). So if you have a story that you think could be told well with low-res, low-color pixel art, I'd love to work with you!

But enough about what I think. You want to see what I can do. Lucky for you, I have a bunch of screenies and mockups from a VN I threw together for my portfolio a while ago! They illustrate what I'm capable of pretty well, I think!

First off, I created a color palette especially for visual novels. It is called Eroge Pewter, and it has sixteen colors, mostly reds and browns.

Then I made a bunch of fake screenshots from what I thought would be good scenes in the novel to show off my skills. I'm actually really terrible at programming, so I didn't actually put these together in any engine like Ren'Py. They just came out of photoshop.

Questions You Might Ask
Can you do more complex backgrounds?