Writer/Editor/Proofreader for Hire

Forum rules
Never bump threads. Per rule 16, updates may be posted once every 2 months. Per rule 18, disclose generative AI use when creating/updating a thread. Violating these rules may led to thread deletion.
MajorGrimbly

Writer/Editor/Proofreader for Hire

#1 Post by MajorGrimbly »

About Me

Hey, all! I'm MajorGrimbly, newly arrived to the boards and looking to offer my services to those interested. I am a writer by trade, whose skill set extends to editing, proofreading and general critique as well. On the creative side of things, I cut my teeth on the works of authors like Tolkien, Jordan, Pratchett and Gaiman, and learned the art of storytelling in several creative writing classes. On a more technical level, I studied history in university, where I crafted a lot of essays. As such, I learned quite a bit about the intricacies of making something interesting to read, as well as informative. These days, I spend a fair bit of my spare time writing for my own amusement, and I have a couple of stories that I've been tidying up with the hope of one day getting published.

Experience

I've had a lot of experience working with writing in a lot of different ways. I was a staff writer on a videogame blog for several years, where I wrote news pieces, reviews, editorials and conducted interviews. I worked on a few essay-writing workshops while I was an undergrad in university, where we would walk new students (and sometimes more experienced ones as well) over the "dos" and "don'ts" of writing essays, focusing particularly on good flow and solid editing. I was an active member of the RPGRevolution forums (RIP :() for quite some time, and worked with other members on a number of small projects which, sadly, fell prey to the usual pitfalls of efforts like that in a pre-Kickstarter, pre-Patreon world (big dreams, high expectations, difficult-to-coordinate schedules, etc).

Genre Preferences