Novice programmer [Free] for your noncommercial game

Forum rules
Never bump threads. Per rule 16, updates may be posted once every 2 months. Violating these rules may led to thread deletion.
Scribbs

Novice programmer [Free] for your noncommercial game

#1 Post by Scribbs »

Hi, all. I'm a newbie programmer interested in learning Ren'py, somewhat familiar with Unity. I haven't yet coded any games to speak of, but I'm offering my services here in exchange for experience and having something to show in my portfolio. My schedule is such that I have quite a bit of free time for the next few weeks at least. I'll keep the thread running for as long as I'm not too busy.

I'm willing to work for free on projects that are
  • Noncommercial - will be available for free, not funded through patreon, not being kickstarted or otherwise crowd-funded.
  • short-term - writing and assets complete or near complete. Priority will be given to projects with complete scripts and assets. If you want to try me out for a portion of the script at first, that's fine.
  • not infringing on any existing IP (i.e. no fangames unless given explicit permission by the rights holders)
Preferences:
  • Project has (or will have) a topic in the WIP forum. It would be nice to be able to share snapshots of the dev process.
  • Wordcount is within 6k. (I may adjust up or down depending on my availability) If I take on larger projects, I would probably push a build per 6k~ words or so, to be able to get feedback/bug reports and make corrections.
  • A game design document. For a straightforward VN/CYOA, a story outline would suffice. For mechanics other than dialogue choices, please describe them.
I'm not interested in creating or searching for assets of any kind.

Regarding content,
Not requirements, but I would be most interested in games that include: