[solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Joey
Regular
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:51 am
Projects: Water's Edge
Organization: Etoranze
Contact:

[solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#1 Post by Joey »

Just wondering how I can stop the menu buttons from showing when there's a menu choice being displayed, like in the situation below:
screenshot.png
My code:

Code: Select all

    show_menu_buttons = True
    def menu_buttons():
        if show_menu_buttons:
            ccinc = renpy.curried_call_in_new_context
            ui.vbox(xpos=0.99, ypos=0.99, xanchor='right', yanchor='bottom')
            if config.skipping:
                ui.imagebutton("interface/button_skip2.png", "interface/button_skip2.png", clicked=toggle_skipping)
            else:
                ui.imagebutton("interface/button_skip.png", "interface/button_skip2.png", clicked=toggle_skipping)
            #ui.imagebutton("interface/button_skip.png", "interface/button_skip2.png", clicked=toggle_skipping)
            ui.imagebutton("interface/button_save.png", "interface/button_save2.png",clicked=ccinc("_game_menu_save"))
            ui.imagebutton("interface/button_load.png", "interface/button_load2.png", clicked=ccinc("_game_menu_load"))
            ui.imagebutton("interface/button_menu.png", "interface/button_menu2.png", clicked=ccinc("_game_menu_preferences"))
            ui.close()
    config.window_overlay_functions.append(menu_buttons)
Thanks in advance!
Last edited by Joey on Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image (devblog) || devtwitter | devtumblr

manga_otaku
Veteran
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:27 pm
Completed: [KN] Saving Project: Blind? (Part One)
Contact:

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#2 Post by manga_otaku »

Couldn't you just put $ show_menu_buttons = False in wherever you wanted the menu to be hidden and then set it back to True once you've done?
Projects:
WIP|[KN] Day Of Reckoning|
Completed|[KN] Saving Project Blind: Part One|[KN] Saving Project Blind: Part Two|[KN] Saving Project Blind: Final Part|
Is available to help with proof-reading (Grammar freak...) Maybe voice-acting in the near future x]

Airetta
Regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:00 pm
Projects: Miracle Days: YourLife VS The Reality
Contact:

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#3 Post by Airetta »

manga_otaku wrote:Couldn't you just put $ show_menu_buttons = False in wherever you wanted the menu to be hidden and then set it back to True once you've done?
it doesn't work
Sorry guys, my English is so bad :D

My Blogsite: http://utysama.aoindonesia.net/
Miracle Days: YourLife VS TheReality: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 5&p=129221

User avatar
Aleema
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2677
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Organization: happyB
Tumblr: happybackwards
Contact:

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#4 Post by Aleema »

Airetta wrote:
manga_otaku wrote:Couldn't you just put $ show_menu_buttons = False in wherever you wanted the menu to be hidden and then set it back to True once you've done?
it doesn't work
I find that very hard to believe. :3

Joey
Regular
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:51 am
Projects: Water's Edge
Organization: Etoranze
Contact:

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#5 Post by Joey »

Whoops! Didn't think of that! xD /is stupid Works perfectly, thanks!
Image
Image (devblog) || devtwitter | devtumblr

Airetta
Regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:00 pm
Projects: Miracle Days: YourLife VS The Reality
Contact:

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#6 Post by Airetta »

Aleema wrote:
Airetta wrote:
manga_otaku wrote:Couldn't you just put $ show_menu_buttons = False in wherever you wanted the menu to be hidden and then set it back to True once you've done?
it doesn't work
I find that very hard to believe. :3
lol i'm serious -_-

is it placed in script.rpy?
Sorry guys, my English is so bad :D

My Blogsite: http://utysama.aoindonesia.net/
Miracle Days: YourLife VS TheReality: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 5&p=129221

User avatar
Aleema
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2677
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Organization: happyB
Tumblr: happybackwards
Contact:

Re: [solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#7 Post by Aleema »

You use it like this:

Code: Select all

$ show_menu_buttons = True
"The buttons are on."
$ show_menu_buttons = False
"The buttons are off."
$ show_menu_buttons = True
"The buttons are on again."
It's not a configuration variable, or anything that modifies the general behavior. It's just a variable that's checked to be true or false to show the buttons.

Airetta
Regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:00 pm
Projects: Miracle Days: YourLife VS The Reality
Contact:

Re: [solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#8 Post by Airetta »

Aleema wrote:You use it like this:

Code: Select all

$ show_menu_buttons = True
"The buttons are on."
$ show_menu_buttons = False
"The buttons are off."
$ show_menu_buttons = True
"The buttons are on again."
It's not a configuration variable, or anything that modifies the general behavior. It's just a variable that's checked to be true or false to show the buttons.
it works if after $ show_menu_buttons = False is dialog but doesn't work if after $ show_menu_buttons = False
is menu choice and quick menu :<
Sorry guys, my English is so bad :D

My Blogsite: http://utysama.aoindonesia.net/
Miracle Days: YourLife VS TheReality: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 5&p=129221

User avatar
Aleema
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2677
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Organization: happyB
Tumblr: happybackwards
Contact:

Re: [solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

#9 Post by Aleema »

"Quick menu" is the buttons it's toggling off. I have no idea what's happening that you think is wrong. =\ Sorry!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]