Page 1 of 1

[solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:37 am
by Joey
Just wondering how I can stop the menu buttons from showing when there's a menu choice being displayed, like in the situation below:
screenshot.png
My code:

Code: Select all

    show_menu_buttons = True
    def menu_buttons():
        if show_menu_buttons:
            ccinc = renpy.curried_call_in_new_context
            ui.vbox(xpos=0.99, ypos=0.99, xanchor='right', yanchor='bottom')
            if config.skipping:
                ui.imagebutton("interface/button_skip2.png", "interface/button_skip2.png", clicked=toggle_skipping)
            else:
                ui.imagebutton("interface/button_skip.png", "interface/button_skip2.png", clicked=toggle_skipping)
            #ui.imagebutton("interface/button_skip.png", "interface/button_skip2.png", clicked=toggle_skipping)
            ui.imagebutton("interface/button_save.png", "interface/button_save2.png",clicked=ccinc("_game_menu_save"))
            ui.imagebutton("interface/button_load.png", "interface/button_load2.png", clicked=ccinc("_game_menu_load"))
            ui.imagebutton("interface/button_menu.png", "interface/button_menu2.png", clicked=ccinc("_game_menu_preferences"))
            ui.close()
    config.window_overlay_functions.append(menu_buttons)
Thanks in advance!

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:00 pm
by manga_otaku
Couldn't you just put $ show_menu_buttons = False in wherever you wanted the menu to be hidden and then set it back to True once you've done?

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:06 am
by Airetta
manga_otaku wrote:Couldn't you just put $ show_menu_buttons = False in wherever you wanted the menu to be hidden and then set it back to True once you've done?
it doesn't work

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:22 am
by Aleema
Airetta wrote:
manga_otaku wrote:Couldn't you just put $ show_menu_buttons = False in wherever you wanted the menu to be hidden and then set it back to True once you've done?
it doesn't work
I find that very hard to believe. :3

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:39 am
by Joey
Whoops! Didn't think of that! xD /is stupid Works perfectly, thanks!

Re: Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:14 pm
by Airetta
Aleema wrote:
Airetta wrote:
manga_otaku wrote:Couldn't you just put $ show_menu_buttons = False in wherever you wanted the menu to be hidden and then set it back to True once you've done?
it doesn't work
I find that very hard to believe. :3
lol i'm serious -_-

is it placed in script.rpy?

Re: [solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:17 pm
by Aleema
You use it like this:

Code: Select all

$ show_menu_buttons = True
"The buttons are on."
$ show_menu_buttons = False
"The buttons are off."
$ show_menu_buttons = True
"The buttons are on again."
It's not a configuration variable, or anything that modifies the general behavior. It's just a variable that's checked to be true or false to show the buttons.

Re: [solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:55 pm
by Airetta
Aleema wrote:You use it like this:

Code: Select all

$ show_menu_buttons = True
"The buttons are on."
$ show_menu_buttons = False
"The buttons are off."
$ show_menu_buttons = True
"The buttons are on again."
It's not a configuration variable, or anything that modifies the general behavior. It's just a variable that's checked to be true or false to show the buttons.
it works if after $ show_menu_buttons = False is dialog but doesn't work if after $ show_menu_buttons = False
is menu choice and quick menu :<

Re: [solved] Remove menu buttons during menu screen?

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:17 pm
by Aleema
"Quick menu" is the buttons it's toggling off. I have no idea what's happening that you think is wrong. =\ Sorry!