hello, I want to ask how to make a imagebutton

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
feierqi

hello, I want to ask how to make a imagebutton

#1 Post by feierqi » Sun Sep 25, 2011 1:17 am

sorry for ask such a simple question.. but I cannot understand the tutorial and the wiki.. also their examples don't work..
can anybody help me? maybe give a simple example.. I appropriate your help

Veniae
Veteran
Projects: Elements: The Academy
Organization: Mushroom Samba

Re: hello, I want to ask how to make a imagebutton

#2 Post by Veniae » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:16 pm

Okay, so I'm a newbie as well, but I hope I can help.

So, here's my imagebutton code:

Code: Select all

ui.vbox(xpos=0.86, ypos=0.78, focus_mask=True)
             ui.imagebutton("menus/skip button idle1.png", "menus/skip button hover1.png", clicked=toggle_skipping, focus_mask=True)
             ui.imagebutton("menus/save button idle1.png", "menus/save button hover1.png", clicked=ccinc("_game_menu_save"), focus_mask=True)
             ui.imagebutton("menus/load button idle1.png", "menus/load button hover1.png", clicked=ccinc("_game_menu_load"), focus_mask=True)
             ui.imagebutton("menus/quit button idle1.png", "menus/quit button hover1.png", clicked=Quit(), focus_mask=True) 
             ui.close()
Explanation:
vbox is a box you can use if you have more than one imagebutton and want to keep them in the same place. The xpos/ypos in the braces determine the position: xpos=0.0, ypos=0.0 is top left and xpos=1.0, ypos=1.0 is bottom right.