options.rpy - keyword can't be an expression!

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Limone

options.rpy - keyword can't be an expression!

#1 Post by Limone »

Hello there, everyone!
I'm fairly new to Ren'Py, and I have a problem with my game already.
The thing is, my main menu seemed so plain, it was imagemapped but there was no music, so I decided to add some.
I searched for the code on Ren'Py Wiki and finally found it in the FAQ, but it practically ruined my project.
After adding it, the error was:
File "game/options.rpy" line 82, invalid syntax
When I tried to comment it out (it was gm = "#hexcode" and I thought it wasn't really needed because of the custom main menu), it gave the same error, but on line 86.
After commenting out both:
Name [...] is defined twice: at game/options.rpy:244 and game/options.rpy:248.
I tried making a new project and putting only the customised dialogue box, some save locations, names etc. so it would be fairly 'pure'.

And I just still can't figure it out! ;A;
Could someone help me please?
Error message.
Error message.
options.rpy
(8.39 KiB) Downloaded 133 times

SleepKirby
Veteran
Projects: Eastern Starlight Romance, Touhou Mecha
Organization: Dai-Sukima Dan

Re: options.rpy - keyword can't be an expression!

#2 Post by SleepKirby »

You're getting this error when you launch the game, right?

I put that options.rpy in a new project, and the game starts without errors for me (well, at least it does when I put an apple.ttf in the game directory)...

- Are there any other .rpy files you've changed besides options.rpy?
- What version of Ren'Py are you using?

Limone