question about main menu transition

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
eesy
Regular
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:30 am
Contact:

question about main menu transition

#1 Post by eesy »

Hi! :oops:
I have imagemapped main menu, but when I click the buttons, it doesn't have any dissolve transition. For example, I want to have the transition when the 'Preference' button is clicked, then dissolves into the pref screens. The one I have just jumps to the pref screens without any effects... It doesn't work only in the main menu, inside the game menu, the transition works.

I have this code too

Code: Select all

    ## Miscellaneous customizations

    ## These let you change the transitions that are used when entering
    ## and exiting the game menu.

    config.enter_transition = dissolve
    config.exit_transition = dissolve
Any idea how to fix my front main menu to have dissolve too? Sorry im such a noob :oops:
I'm epic noob!

SundownKid
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:50 pm
Completed: Icebound, Selenon Rising Ep. 1-2
Projects: Selenon Rising Ep. 3-4
Organization: Fastermind Games
Deviantart: sundownkid
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: question about main menu transition

#2 Post by SundownKid »

You have to use

Code: Select all

action ShowMenu
instead of just

Code: Select all

action Show
to get the default transitions.

User avatar
eesy
Regular
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:30 am
Contact:

Re: question about main menu transition

#3 Post by eesy »

yes somehow , it still works, but very very rare, but only for the exit.

I already have the show menu code like

Code: Select all

            hotspot (322, 421, 158, 56) action Start() 
            hotspot (212, 421, 110, 56) action ShowMenu("load") 
            hotspot (71, 421, 141, 56) action ShowMenu("preferences") 
            hotspot (623, 421, 102, 56) action Quit(confirm=True) 

but nothing.
the enter sound mixes too.. although only happen in the main menu exit. so sometimes i could hear the sound from
style.hotspot.activate_sound = "assets/sound/sample19.wav" but sometimes this
config.enter_sound = "assets/sound/sample5.wav"

Code: Select all

    ## Sounds that are used when button and imagemaps are clicked.
    style.hotspot.hover_sound = "assets/sound/metalic.mp3"
    style.button.hover_sound = "assets/sound/metalic.mp3"
    style.button.activate_sound = "assets/sound/sample20.wav"
    style.imagemap.activate_sound = "assets/sound/sample5.wav"
    style.hotspot.activate_sound = "assets/sound/sample19.wav"
    ## Sounds that are used when entering and exiting the game menu.

    config.enter_sound = "assets/sound/sample5.wav"
    config.exit_sound = "assets/sound/sample20.wav"
in the game , the enter_sound works fine, just in the main menu it plays sample19 . any idea?
I'm epic noob!

User avatar
eesy
Regular
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:30 am
Contact:

Re: question about main menu transition

#4 Post by eesy »

been 4 days!
I don't mind about the sound anymore.
I just want to know what I did wrong that there aren't any dissolve transition in my main menu ? (when i click preferences and stuff)
what should I do? I really need to work on my game fast ><;;
I'm epic noob!

SundownKid
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:50 pm
Completed: Icebound, Selenon Rising Ep. 1-2
Projects: Selenon Rising Ep. 3-4
Organization: Fastermind Games
Deviantart: sundownkid
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: question about main menu transition

#5 Post by SundownKid »

You can use

Code: Select all

Show("menu", transition=dissolve)
To manually force transitions. You can also define your own transition and use it in there.

Also, you can use

Code: Select all

action [Show("menu", transition=dissolve), Play("sound", "sound.ogg")] hovered Play("sound", "sound2.ogg")
To play sounds on click and hover.

User avatar
eesy
Regular
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:30 am
Contact:

Re: question about main menu transition

#6 Post by eesy »

thank you, it works!!
however, do you know how to enable some button so people can easily hide the window whenever they want to?
click x to hide window, click x again to show window, something like that.. :wink:

i replied to the wrong thread .. :oops:
I'm epic noob!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users