Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Message
Author
asfdfdfd
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:13 am
Github: asfdfdfd
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#121 Post by asfdfdfd » Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:47 am

ArizaLuca wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:21 pm
Hi;

in the GitHub thing it says to apply a patch:
Hey.

This is 'Building' section. It exists for people who wants to participate in development of module. If you want to try it just as user then follow instructions at 'Installing' section.

TakeHomeTheCup
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#122 Post by TakeHomeTheCup » Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:36 pm

Has anyone managed to build the extension for Windows? I'm having trouble with it. Every time I run Ren'Py, it says it can't find a DLL.
I tried the release build and it runs... Though it can't load the model for me.

asfdfdfd
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:13 am
Github: asfdfdfd
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#123 Post by asfdfdfd » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:17 am

TakeHomeTheCup wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:36 pm
Has anyone managed to build the extension for Windows? I'm having trouble with it. Every time I run Ren'Py, it says it can't find a DLL.
Could you upload complete error log please?
TakeHomeTheCup wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:36 pm
I tried the release build and it runs... Though it can't load the model for me.
I'm here to answer questions about this module so if you provide more details we could figure something out. :) Probably you may upload your test project somewhere.

TakeHomeTheCup
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#124 Post by TakeHomeTheCup » Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:32 pm

Oh, thanks.
Here's the log: Google Drive
And here's a link to the project: Google Drive

User avatar
ArizaLuca
Regular
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:59 pm
Completed: Through the Screen
Tumblr: aa-games
Deviantart: ArizaLuca
itch: arizaluca
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#125 Post by ArizaLuca » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:03 am

asfdfdfd wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:47 am
ArizaLuca wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:21 pm
Hi;

in the GitHub thing it says to apply a patch:
Hey.

This is 'Building' section. It exists for people who wants to participate in development of module. If you want to try it just as user then follow instructions at 'Installing' section.
Thank you very much for that. It says you need to have the Live2D be a JSON file in the usage thing (specifically 'model3.json'); how do you export it like that? I only see moc3 files.

Also, for the 'motion group', are those default animations? I have special animations for the model I am using that I created.

Thanks.

TakeHomeTheCup
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#126 Post by TakeHomeTheCup » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:29 am

ArizaLuca wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:03 am
Thank you very much for that. It says you need to have the Live2D be a JSON file in the usage thing (specifically 'model3.json'); how do you export it like that? I only see moc3 files.

Also, for the 'motion group', are those default animations? I have special animations for the model I am using that I created.

Thanks.
Press on File -> Export for Runtime -> Export as moc3 file.
It should create the json files too.

User avatar
ArizaLuca
Regular
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:59 pm
Completed: Through the Screen
Tumblr: aa-games
Deviantart: ArizaLuca
itch: arizaluca
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#127 Post by ArizaLuca » Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:27 pm

TakeHomeTheCup wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:29 am
Press on File -> Export for Runtime -> Export as moc3 file.
It should create the json files too.
Yes, but I also have my own personal default animations. Is there a way to export those as well?

Also, can I display multiple Live2D sprites at the same time?

Settle for Pocky
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:49 am
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#128 Post by Settle for Pocky » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:52 am

Hey I'm sorry if this a stupid question but just found this thread (and lucky to) and trying to work my way backwards to get a version going on my mac. Can anyone do a quick "how-to" on that, sorry if this isn't pushing the conversation forward but may help others like me who are starting.

(you can also say "shut up, the programmers are talking," either one works)

you guys are awesome,
Patrick B.

asfdfdfd
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:13 am
Github: asfdfdfd
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#129 Post by asfdfdfd » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:15 am

TakeHomeTheCup wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:32 pm
Oh, thanks.
Here's the log: Google Drive
And here's a link to the project: Google Drive
Error will disappear If you replace 'pyd' file in your example with prebuilt one from 'releases' page. It seems that you have tried to build module by yourself and somehow it goes wrong. Please double check that you have followed manual. Every step is super important. Even software versions.

asfdfdfd
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:13 am
Github: asfdfdfd
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#130 Post by asfdfdfd » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:18 am

TakeHomeTheCup wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:36 pm
Has anyone managed to build the extension for Windows? I'm having trouble with it. Every time I run Ren'Py, it says it can't find a DLL.
I tried the release build and it runs... Though it can't load the model for me.
Oh. I read you carelessly. You have tried to build module by yourself actually. So. As the first step check that you use the same versions of Python and MSVC as i've used (also they should be 32-bit). If you have installed them and you have other versions of MSVC and Python check that build process called required software versions and not yours.
Last edited by asfdfdfd on Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

asfdfdfd
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:13 am
Github: asfdfdfd
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#131 Post by asfdfdfd » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:29 am

ArizaLuca wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:27 pm
Yes, but I also have my own personal default animations. Is there a way to export those as well?
As for now Cubism SDK supports switching motions and expressions. So if you constructed your animations as motions or expressions you could call them with 'start_motion' or 'set_expression' methods.
ArizaLuca wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:27 pm
Also, can I display multiple Live2D sprites at the same time?
As for now there is no convenient way to do this but i could suggest two hacks:
1. Call 'scene.create_model' twice. It will add two models on scene. But this method is not really useful because all models will be placed on top of each other. Positioning of models inside scene is not ready yet.
2. You may create two Live2DDisplayable instances and position them as regular displayables via RenPy methods. But this method will be pretty slow and FPS may be low.

asfdfdfd
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:13 am
Github: asfdfdfd
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#132 Post by asfdfdfd » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:31 am

Settle for Pocky wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:52 am
Hey I'm sorry if this a stupid question but just found this thread (and lucky to) and trying to work my way backwards to get a version going on my mac. Can anyone do a quick "how-to" on that, sorry if this isn't pushing the conversation forward but may help others like me who are starting.

(you can also say "shut up, the programmers are talking," either one works)

you guys are awesome,
Patrick B.
Hey, no problem. Just follow "Installing" section of the manual. Ask here if you will have any problems.

Settle for Pocky
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:49 am
Contact:

Re: Does Ren'Py support Live 2D?

#133 Post by Settle for Pocky » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:08 pm

https://vimeo.com/296234331

This is as far as I got "comfortably" before getting a bit lost. Didn't want to bloat this thread so I gave you a pm

thanks,
Patrick B.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users