Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface [Solved]

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Suwamoto
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:36 am
Contact:

Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface [Solved]

#1 Post by Suwamoto »

Hello >w<
I have been wondering if it is possible to stop the Yes/No screen from hiding the user interface, since I have changed it to a half transparent screen and having the textbox disappearing each time looks a bit strange.

And is it in general possible to display the Textbox on another screen? I have tried out "use say" but it doesn't seem to work like that >w<
Last edited by Suwamoto on Fri Jul 19, 2013 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16093
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#2 Post by PyTom »

Yes, it should be possible if you make the screen modal and remove the tag.

The textbox is just a window with things in it. You can create the window, but you'd have to decide what you want in it.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Suwamoto
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#3 Post by Suwamoto »

As far as I see, screen yesno_prompt doesn't have a tag >w<" Or is it given by default?
If yes, how do I remove it?

User avatar
Greeny
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 921
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:15 am
Completed: The Loop, The Madness
Projects: In Orbit, TBA
Organization: Gliese Productions
Location: Cantankerous Castle
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#4 Post by Greeny »

Code: Select all

screen yesno_prompt:
    modal True

    imagemap:
        ground 'gui/yesno_ground.png' # Background image
        idle 'gui/yesno_idle.png'
        hover 'gui/yesno_hover.png'
       
        hotspot (500, 355, 120, 100) action yes_action
        hotspot (740, 355, 120, 100) action no_action

    #text _(message):
        #xalign 0.5
        #yalign 0.5

    if message == layout.ARE_YOU_SURE:
        add "gui/yesno_are_you_sure.png"
       
    elif message == layout.DELETE_SAVE:
        add "gui/yesno_delete_save.png"
       
    elif message == layout.OVERWRITE_SAVE:
        add "gui/yesno_overwrite_save.png"
       
    elif message == layout.LOADING:
        add "gui/yesno_loading.png"
       
    elif message == layout.QUIT:
        add "gui/yesno_quit.png"
       
    elif message == layout.MAIN_MENU:
        add "gui/yesno_main_menu.png" 
That does the trick. EDIT: Or not
In Orbit [WIP] | Gliese is now doing weekly erratic VN reviews! The latest: Halloween Otome!
Gliese Productions | Facebook | Twitter
Image

User avatar
Suwamoto
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#5 Post by Suwamoto »

Greeny wrote: That does the trick. EDIT: Or not
Lol thanks though XD

*is still wondering how to change the tag for the yesno_prompt* >w<
I want it to overlay the other screens instead of replace them >w< But Idk how to change the tag since there's none given.
Anyone an idea?

User avatar
Greeny
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 921
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:15 am
Completed: The Loop, The Madness
Projects: In Orbit, TBA
Organization: Gliese Productions
Location: Cantankerous Castle
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#6 Post by Greeny »

The say screen doesn't have a tag either but it has [ id "window" ]
What if you appended "use window"? I have literally no idea what I'm talking about.
In Orbit [WIP] | Gliese is now doing weekly erratic VN reviews! The latest: Halloween Otome!
Gliese Productions | Facebook | Twitter
Image

User avatar
saguaro
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 560
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:17 am
Completed: Locked-In, Sunrise, The Censor
Organization: Lucky Special Games
itch: saguarofoo
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#7 Post by saguaro »

Is yesno considered a game menu?

config.menu_clear_layers defines which layers to be cleared when a game menu is is shown. Is there a corresponding list for game menus that we can remove yesno from?

edit: no, the yesno prompt is not on the game menu list...
http://www.renpy.org/wiki/renpy/doc/ref ... #Game_Menu

User avatar
Suwamoto
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#8 Post by Suwamoto »

saguaro wrote:Is there a corresponding list for game menus that we can remove yesno from?
It doesn't seem so. All I found was the yesno_prompt. I can't even figure out how that one is called x.x

Edit: Okay, I figured out that it's working, as long as I don't use the red x window close button on the right corner.
Cause whenever I click that one, it seems to clear the whole screen, leaving only the yesno_prompt.
If I can figure out how to stop it from clearing the screen, that'd be perfect o.ob

User avatar
saguaro
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 560
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:17 am
Completed: Locked-In, Sunrise, The Censor
Organization: Lucky Special Games
itch: saguarofoo
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#9 Post by saguaro »

Awww yeah

Code: Select all

config.quit_action = Quit(confirm=True)
http://www.renpy.org/doc/html/config.ht ... uit_action

http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... on#p198815

I tried a few custom quit_actions before realizing this works. I'm not sure WHY this works, but calling/showing the yes_no prompt from a custom quit label doesn't.

User avatar
Suwamoto
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Stop Yes/No screen from hiding Interface

#10 Post by Suwamoto »

Omg that works O____O
Though I don't understand why either XD But thank you very much! >w<

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Ocelot