[SOLVED]Help with User Choices regarding character's gender

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
VirusChris

[SOLVED]Help with User Choices regarding character's gender

#1 Post by VirusChris »

Hey there, I'm new to these forums as I'm trying my hand at using Ren'py and making my own Visual Novel! So please excuse me if I don't seem to grasp the coding just right, right away, as I'm still learning about this program... however it looks amazing to make a Visual Novel with!

Anyway about my question, you see in my Visual Novel the player can romance certain characters or have a "bromance/sisteromance (have no idea for the female equivalent" routes depending the the character's gender but I can't seem to get it with the menu choice.

I looked at the "Remembering User Choices" guide, but I got an error when setting it up and it was this:
File "game/script.rpy", line 25: Line is followed by a block, despite not being a menu choice. Did you forget a colon at the end of the line?
"I'm a boy"<-
This is the error message when I boot up the game and this is my code lines:

Code: Select all

e "First off, can you tell me are you a boy or a girl?"

menu:
    "I'm a boy"
        $ gender = "male"
    "I'm a girl"
        $ gender = "female"

e "So your a, %(gender)s?"
I seemed to be missing something and I like to correct this as soon as possible as I'm testing the controls with Ren'py before I start working on adding images, sound/music, and all the other things as well.