Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Message
Author
Ivlivs
Veteran
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:00 pm
Contact:

Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#1 Post by Ivlivs » Sun Mar 30, 2014 11:17 am

I have a menu that uses imagemaps in my game. However, when I loaded the latest version of Ren'Py, it looked like the attached image; selectable areas were out of alignment. What's going on?
Attachments
Bad Imagemap Menu.png
Jitteh Dawn --- A VN by Ivlivs
Parasite Lance --- A puzzle game by Ivlivs (Rawle Nyanzi)

User avatar
mugenjohncel
Hentai Poofter
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 pm
Organization: Studio Mugenjohncel
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#2 Post by mugenjohncel » Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:10 pm

Delete the contents of the Cache

Ivlivs
Veteran
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#3 Post by Ivlivs » Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:20 pm

Where's the cache?
Jitteh Dawn --- A VN by Ivlivs
Parasite Lance --- A puzzle game by Ivlivs (Rawle Nyanzi)

User avatar
mugenjohncel
Hentai Poofter
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 pm
Organization: Studio Mugenjohncel
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#4 Post by mugenjohncel » Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:46 pm

It should be inside your projects game folder... once you see the "cache" folder, delete all the images inside...

Ivlivs
Veteran
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#5 Post by Ivlivs » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:00 pm

Can't find it.
Jitteh Dawn --- A VN by Ivlivs
Parasite Lance --- A puzzle game by Ivlivs (Rawle Nyanzi)

User avatar
mugenjohncel
Hentai Poofter
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 pm
Organization: Studio Mugenjohncel
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#6 Post by mugenjohncel » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:04 pm

Can you attach here a barebone project containing only your imagemap GUI so we can take a look at it?

Edit:
I tried opening a couple of old and new projects relying heavily on imagemaps and they all seem to work fine...
Image

User avatar
NekoNutchi
Regular
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:37 am
Completed: Reverse Metamorphosis (NaNo2014)
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#7 Post by NekoNutchi » Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:15 pm

Interesting... I have this problem as well with my main menu, and thought i'd made a mistake in positioning the hotspots. But when i change them (by first locating their exact positions through developer mode), this mis-alignment keeps occurring, and sometimes cropping of part of the image that's supposed to go inside the hotspot…

Edit: emptying the cache didn't make any difference, at least for me.
Edit2: adding this config variable helped

Code: Select all

config.imagemap_cache = False
Last edited by NekoNutchi on Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Asceai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1258
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:13 am
Projects: a battle engine
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#8 Post by Asceai » Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:24 pm


User avatar
quacksapup
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:43 pm
Projects: "Heartbeat" (In Progress)
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#9 Post by quacksapup » Sun Mar 30, 2014 5:26 pm

I have the same problem happening with my game... and all the codes are correct. I have no idea what's going on!
I also deleted my cache, and it didn't help. The weird thing with mine is... there's weird floating bars and you have to click on those rather than the actual button itself.

User avatar
Donmai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:45 am
Completed: Toire No Hanako, Li'l Red [NaNoRenO 2013], The One in LOVE [NaNoRenO 2014], Running Blade [NaNoRenO 2016], The Other Question
Projects: Slumberland
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#10 Post by Donmai » Sun Mar 30, 2014 5:42 pm

Ivlivs wrote:Can't find it.
Look for two buttons on your Launcher interface. The first is under the words 'Open Directory' and is named 'Game'. This button will open the game folder of the current project. Your 'cache' folder should be there. Open the cache folder and send its old content (it will look like image strips with text from your old menu) to the trash.
The second button is under the words 'Navigate script' and it's named 'Delete Persistent'. Use it before running your game again.
Image
No, sorry! You must be mistaking me for someone else.
TOIRE NO HANAKO (A Story About Fear)

User avatar
mugenjohncel
Hentai Poofter
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 pm
Organization: Studio Mugenjohncel
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#11 Post by mugenjohncel » Sun Mar 30, 2014 5:52 pm

Someone needs to assemble and post a stripped GUI only version here so we can take a look at it and isolate the problem because, I have 15 different projects here using Imagemap GUI... some of which are made using different versions of Ren'py and all of them are working properly on the latest Ren'py. :?

Here's another screenshot showing everything in place...
Image

Anyway, the contents of the Cache should look something like this where your resources are conveniently cached (appearance depends on how your Imagemap graphic and how it is set)...
Image

Ivlivs
Veteran
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#12 Post by Ivlivs » Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:06 pm

Donmai wrote:
Ivlivs wrote:Can't find it.
Look for two buttons on your Launcher interface. The first is under the words 'Open Directory' and is named 'Game'. This button will open the game folder of the current project. Your 'cache' folder should be there. Open the cache folder and send its old content (it will look like image strips with text from your old menu) to the trash.
The second button is under the words 'Navigate script' and it's named 'Delete Persistent'. Use it before running your game again.
I have no cache, and deleting persistent data does nothing.
Jitteh Dawn --- A VN by Ivlivs
Parasite Lance --- A puzzle game by Ivlivs (Rawle Nyanzi)

Ivlivs
Veteran
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#13 Post by Ivlivs » Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:08 pm

I've been forced to use an earlier version until this is sorted out. I'm convinced that it's a bug, because I only encounter this problem with the latest release -- earlier releases don't do this at all.
Jitteh Dawn --- A VN by Ivlivs
Parasite Lance --- A puzzle game by Ivlivs (Rawle Nyanzi)

User avatar
NekoNutchi
Regular
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:37 am
Completed: Reverse Metamorphosis (NaNo2014)
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#14 Post by NekoNutchi » Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:12 pm

Hmm, i have version 6.16.5 and it happened for me as well.

User avatar
Asceai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1258
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:13 am
Projects: a battle engine
Contact:

Re: Imagemap menus are broken in Ren'Py 6.17.3

#15 Post by Asceai » Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:17 pm

Upload a minimal ren'py project (With just an imagemap, all actions being NullAction() etc.) demonstrating the issue.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]