[Solved] Setting a publisher for a game

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Gear
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:15 pm
Projects: Tempestus Sum
Organization: Xenokos Interactive
IRC Nick: Gear
Skype: Skye.Gear
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Contact:

[Solved] Setting a publisher for a game

#1 Post by Gear » Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:27 pm

So, when I load my game, I get this:

Image

Now, I realize that there's nothing I can do about this. Obviously, being an independent video game developer (read: newb), I'm not going to be a "trusted" publisher. But is there any way to tell Windows to change "Unknown Publisher" to something else? Or is this too next-level for a newbie dev?
Last edited by Gear on Sat Jul 12, 2014 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The best reason to get up in the morning is to outdo yourself: to do it better than you've ever done it before. But if you haven't done it better by nightfall... look at your globe and pick a spot: it's always morning somewhere.

User avatar
Asceai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1258
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:13 am
Projects: a battle engine
Contact:

Re: Setting a publisher for a game

#2 Post by Asceai » Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:47 pm

Changing “Publisher” information for a “.exe” file

(you need a resource editor. I dunno if cff explorer or resource hacker can do it, but I'm sure something can)

User avatar
Gear
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:15 pm
Projects: Tempestus Sum
Organization: Xenokos Interactive
IRC Nick: Gear
Skype: Skye.Gear
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Contact:

Re: Setting a publisher for a game

#3 Post by Gear » Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:53 pm

Hm. I'm going to assume, then, that I'm boned. I worry that any external program might screw with my Ren'Py code, and there's always the problem of unpacking and repacking a distro.
The best reason to get up in the morning is to outdo yourself: to do it better than you've ever done it before. But if you haven't done it better by nightfall... look at your globe and pick a spot: it's always morning somewhere.

User avatar
Gear
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:15 pm
Projects: Tempestus Sum
Organization: Xenokos Interactive
IRC Nick: Gear
Skype: Skye.Gear
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Contact:

Re: Setting a publisher for a game

#4 Post by Gear » Sat Jul 12, 2014 5:11 pm

I take that back. I got one of those programs and it seems to have worked. Oddly enough, the warning message doesn't appear anymore. But the game still seems to be functioning, so that's good.
The best reason to get up in the morning is to outdo yourself: to do it better than you've ever done it before. But if you haven't done it better by nightfall... look at your globe and pick a spot: it's always morning somewhere.

User avatar
Kaen
Regular
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [Solved] Setting a publisher for a game

#5 Post by Kaen » Sat Jul 12, 2014 6:55 pm

Could you share what program you used? Thanks!

User avatar
Gear
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:15 pm
Projects: Tempestus Sum
Organization: Xenokos Interactive
IRC Nick: Gear
Skype: Skye.Gear
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Contact:

Re: [Solved] Setting a publisher for a game

#6 Post by Gear » Sat Jul 12, 2014 7:25 pm

Sure! It's called ResEdit.
The best reason to get up in the morning is to outdo yourself: to do it better than you've ever done it before. But if you haven't done it better by nightfall... look at your globe and pick a spot: it's always morning somewhere.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot]