Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Message
Author
User avatar
Camille
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1224
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 2:43 pm
Completed: Please see http://trash.moe
Projects: Spirit Parade
Organization: Cyanide Tea
Tumblr: narihira
Deviantart: crownwaltz
Skype: thievinghearts
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#91 Post by Camille » Wed Mar 18, 2015 10:48 pm

PyTom wrote:
Camille wrote:Since updating to the latest version, my layers have gotten messed up? I have my side sprites on their own layer which I've implemented using config.layers + config.context_clear_layers.append...
I think you had been using the branch I gave you a while back. The changes in that branch have been integrated, but require a config change. The correct code is now:

Code: Select all

init -100 python:
    config.layers = [ 'master', 'transient', 'say', 'side_image', 'screens', 'overlay' ]
    config.context_clear_layers.append("side_image")
    config.context_clear_layers.append("say")
    config.say_layer = "say"
    config.choice_layer = "say"
Oh this works nicely! *__* Thank you so much~
1/2 of Cyanide Tea | Break Chance Memento (BL) | Spirit Parade (Otome) | Portfolio/List of Works/Contact
I'm not around LSF very much these days; please contact me via Skype/Twitter. Ask me things!

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 14987
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#92 Post by PyTom » Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:37 pm

Okay, I've updated to 6.99.0.268.

This prerelease restores compatibility with OS X 10.6, and to do so updates the version of Python included with the PC versions of Ren'Py to 2.7.9.

It extends the keymap system to treat repeated keys differently than normal keys. I've bound both repeat and normal keys where doing so makes sense. This fixes a problem where keys like ctrl and tab were repeating, causing problems with skipping.

.268 updates the new RWops code to work on non-ASCII systems.

It fixes Arowana's problem, which was an interesting one caused by constant displayables failing to be constructed. In this case, a text with an interpolation is considered to be a constant displayable, as it's updated by an out-of-band mechanism.

It also fixes an issue with im.Composite that could cause "incorrect" (actually overly correct, but not matching Ren'Py's usual behavior) blending. This lead to ketskari's problem.

It also fixes an issue causing doubled windows if certain errors occurred when starting openGL.

I'm sure I'm forgetting something here, but this should solve all outstanding issues, and if it doesn't please let me know. The steam support has been rebuilt, so if you're one of the people using it, download and install it again.

Thanks to all the the noble testers.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Samu-kun
King of Moé
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:49 pm
Organization: Love in Space Inc
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#93 Post by Samu-kun » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:28 am

Everything seems all right, but for some reason, the seen_labels code you gave me stopped working until I changed it.

Original:

Code: Select all

label after_load:

    if not hasattr(store, "seen_labels"):
        $ seen_labels = set()
        
    if "scumscum" not in seen_labels:
        call savescum from _call_savescum

    return

init python:

    def label_callback(label, abnormal):
        s = getattr(store, "seen_labels", None)
        if s is not None:
            s.add(label)
            
    config.label_callback = label_callback
Stopped working, giving a traceback which said "seen_labels" was undefined.

Adding

Code: Select all

init -1 python:

    if not hasattr(store, "seen_labels"):
        seen_labels = set()
Seems to fix it.

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1823
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#94 Post by nyaatrap » Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:25 am

Thanks, updated and non-ascii soud error is fixed. but...where my update button gone?

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 14987
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#95 Post by PyTom » Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:44 am

nyaatrap - that's weird. Can you see if the update/ directory exists?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1823
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#96 Post by nyaatrap » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:06 pm

First, I updated from a nightly version and got this issue.
Then I downloaded from http://www.renpy.org/release/6.99 and unzipped, then the above screenshot is the result.
In a new downloaded ren'py folder, I'm seeing the update folder which contains only 'current.json' file

Dharker
Regular
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 6:45 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#97 Post by Dharker » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:19 pm

Hi,

just a quick note, the new version, when installed and you go to look at script files, it says which text editor do you want to Select.

When selecting Editra, instead of downloading and using that it just returns to the game selection screen.

Further to this, in the preferences if Editra or jEdit are chosen it says 'Not Set' instead of setting it as the text editor you would expect...

Image

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 14987
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#98 Post by PyTom » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:31 pm

Hrm.

There's some issue with the updater, apparently - since those use the updater.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

fk1995
Regular
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:45 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#99 Post by fk1995 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:42 pm

Hi Pytom, I noticed that 6.99 renpy games on android sometimes become unresponsive in the game menu after locking and unlocking the device. This is easily reproducable by simply running any game on android, go to the game menu and lock-unlock.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 14987
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#100 Post by PyTom » Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:28 pm

Samu-kun, I'd need to see what's going on with the traceback to know what's going wrong. Offhand, I think your fix might have a problem, because seen_labels won't be saved if it's created in the init block. But didn't I give you code that creates it after label start?

fk1995, I'm unable to repeat the problem, after trying a dozen times or so with the_question.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 14987
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#101 Post by PyTom » Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:40 pm

I've bumped the prerelease to 6.99.0.271.

This fixes the updater being broken, and adds a Finnish translation of the launcher.

If you're having problems with the updater - which basically means you're updating from 6.99.0.268 - you can try to copy the lib/darwin-x86_64/eggs directory over to lib/windows-i686/eggs, which will probably fix the problem. Sorry about that. Dharker's editor problem is also an updater problem, as Ren'Py uses the updater to get the editor DLC.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Samu-kun
King of Moé
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:49 pm
Organization: Love in Space Inc
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#102 Post by Samu-kun » Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:55 am

Great, now I can't reproduce the error. Weird.

Dharker
Regular
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 6:45 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#103 Post by Dharker » Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:56 am

Hi, thanks haven't found any issues in the new update.

fk1995
Regular
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:45 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#104 Post by fk1995 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:12 pm

PyTom wrote:Samu-kun, I'd need to see what's going on with the traceback to know what's going wrong. Offhand, I think your fix might have a problem, because seen_labels won't be saved if it's created in the init block. But didn't I give you code that creates it after label start?

fk1995, I'm unable to repeat the problem, after trying a dozen times or so with the_question.
Here is the video about the bug, and device info is included as description:

https://youtu.be/m0Iqw5E9Syk

Also, here is the log.txt:

Code: Select all

Fri Mar 20 16:56:22 2015
Windowed mode.
Screen sizes: virtual=(800, 600) physical=(1280, 720)
Vendor: 'Qualcomm'
Renderer: 'Adreno (TM) 305'
Version: 'OpenGL ES 3.0 V@53.0 AU@04.03.00.129.068 (CL@)'
Display Info: <Info({'blit_sw_CC': False, 'bitsize': 16, 'wm': True, 'losses': (3, 2, 3, 8), 'hw': False, 'masks': (63488L, 2016L, 31L, 0L), 'current_h': 720, 'current_w': 1280, 'shifts': (11, 5, 0, 0), 'blit_sw_A': False, 'blit_hw': False, 'blit_sw': False, 'bytesize': 2, 'blit_hw_CC': False, 'blit_hw_A': False, 'video_mem': 268435456})>
Extensions:
    
    GL_AMD_compressed_ATC_texture
    GL_AMD_performance_monitor
    GL_AMD_program_binary_Z400
    GL_EXT_color_buffer_float
    GL_EXT_color_buffer_half_float
    GL_EXT_debug_label
    GL_EXT_debug_marker
    GL_EXT_discard_framebuffer
    GL_EXT_disjoint_timer_query
    GL_EXT_robustness
    GL_EXT_sRGB
    GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
    GL_EXT_texture_format_BGRA8888
    GL_EXT_texture_type_2_10_10_10_REV
    GL_NV_fence
    GL_OES_EGL_image
    GL_OES_EGL_image_external
    GL_OES_compressed_ETC1_RGB8_texture
    GL_OES_depth24
    GL_OES_depth_texture
    GL_OES_depth_texture_cube_map
    GL_OES_element_index_uint
    GL_OES_fbo_render_mipmap
    GL_OES_fragment_precision_high
    GL_OES_get_program_binary
    GL_OES_packed_depth_stencil
    GL_OES_rgb8_rgba8
    GL_OES_standard_derivatives
    GL_OES_texture_3D
    GL_OES_texture_float
    GL_OES_texture_half_float
    GL_OES_texture_half_float_linear
    GL_OES_texture_npot
    GL_OES_vertex_array_object
    GL_OES_vertex_half_float
    GL_OES_vertex_type_10_10_10_2
    GL_QCOM_alpha_test
    GL_QCOM_binning_control
    GL_QCOM_driver_control
    GL_QCOM_extended_get
    GL_QCOM_extended_get2
    GL_QCOM_perfmon_global_mode
    GL_QCOM_tiled_rendering
    GL_QCOM_writeonly_rendering
Number of texture units: 16
Using shader environment.
Using FBO RTT.
FBO Maximum Texture Size: 4096
Root FBO is: 0
Using gl renderer.
Texture testing:
- Hardware max texture size: 4096
- 64px textures work.
- 128px textures work.
- 256px textures work.
- 512px textures work.
- 1024px textures work.
- 2048px textures work.
FBO Maximum Texture Size: 4096
Root FBO is: 0
The window was minimized.

Windowed mode.
Screen sizes: virtual=(800, 600) physical=(720, 1280)
FBO Maximum Texture Size: 4096
Root FBO is: 0

Windowed mode.
Screen sizes: virtual=(800, 600) physical=(1280, 720)
FBO Maximum Texture Size: 4096
Root FBO is: 0
The window was minimized.


User avatar
Samu-kun
King of Moé
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:49 pm
Organization: Love in Space Inc
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#105 Post by Samu-kun » Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:39 pm

The new loop crash feature really doesn't like my election counter code.

It loops the same label a lot until all the votes have been counted, but it now thinks it's an infinite loop.

Code: Select all

    $ kayto_vote = 0
    $ fontana_vote = 0
    $ kayto_bar = 0
    $ fontana_bar = 0
    
    show screen election
    
    $ kayto_vote_pre = round(stat_kendo_prestige + stat_science_prestige + stat_swim_prestige - (academicprobation*200) + stat_intelligence)/5
    
    $ fontana_vote_pre = 540 - kayto_vote_pre
    
    if kayto_vote_pre == fontana_vote_pre:
        $ kayto_vote_pre -= 1
        
label voteadd:
        
    if kayto_vote < kayto_vote_pre:
        $ kayto_vote += 1
            
    if fontana_vote < fontana_vote_pre:
        $ fontana_vote += 1
            
    if kayto_vote < kayto_vote_pre:
        pause 0.0001
        jump voteadd
        
    if fontana_vote < fontana_vote_pre:
        pause 0.0001
        jump voteadd
        
    pause
    
    hide screen election
    
    if kayto_vote > fontana_vote:
        jump m9_vote_win
    
    if fontana_vote > kayto_vote:
        jump m9_vote_lose
    
    return

Code: Select all

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
  File "game/script.rpy", line 94, in script call
    "..."
  File "game/dayloops.rpy", line 7289, in script call
    call act_clubs from _call_act_clubs_98
  File "game/activities.rpy", line 404, in script call
    call clubtime_events from _call_clubtime_events
  File "game/script.rpy", line 16641, in script
    label voteadd:
Exception: Possible infinite loop.

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
  File "D:\Downloads\renpy-6.99.0-sdk\renpy\bootstrap.py", line 287, in bootstrap
    renpy.main.main()
  File "D:\Downloads\renpy-6.99.0-sdk\renpy\main.py", line 375, in main
    run(restart)
  File "D:\Downloads\renpy-6.99.0-sdk\renpy\main.py", line 77, in run
    renpy.execution.run_context(True)
  File "D:\Downloads\renpy-6.99.0-sdk\renpy\execution.py", line 684, in run_context
    context.run()
  File "game/script.rpy", line 94, in script call
    "..."
  File "game/dayloops.rpy", line 7289, in script call
    call act_clubs from _call_act_clubs_98
  File "game/activities.rpy", line 404, in script call
    call clubtime_events from _call_clubtime_events
  File "game/script.rpy", line 16641, in script
    label voteadd:
  File "D:\Downloads\renpy-6.99.0-sdk\renpy\execution.py", line 52, in check_infinite_loop
    raise Exception("Possible infinite loop.")
Exception: Possible infinite loop.

Windows-8-6.2.9200
Ren'Py 6.99.0.268
SunriderAcademy AsagaM6


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users