Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Message
Author
User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#16 Post by PyTom »

Are you playing them as audio or video? We only support mp4s as video files. For audio, use ogg vorbis or mp3.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

fk1995
Regular
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:45 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#17 Post by fk1995 »

OK, here are more details.
My script is like:

Code: Select all

e "Hi! My name is Eileen, and I'd like to welcome you to the Ren'Py tutorial."
    $renpy.movie_cutscene("ttnclip1.mp4")

    show eileen happy
And the movie is not played at all. Nothing shows up.
In the log window of Xcode, there is a line:

ttnclip1.mp4 audio stream could not be opened.

So I guess there is something wrong with the audio stream of my video file, but there is not since I can play it with sound in Quicktime... So I have no clue now.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#18 Post by PyTom »

Can you send me the file? I'll load it in and see if it works for me.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

fk1995
Regular
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:45 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#19 Post by fk1995 »

Email has been sent.

iichan_lolbot
Veteran
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:18 am
Projects: iichan erogame
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#20 Post by iichan_lolbot »

Funny bug: renpy.audio.audio.pause was added, however, movies are not paused with it - sound is paused, videostream is not.
Windows 8.1, ANGLE render.

iichan_lolbot
Veteran
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:18 am
Projects: iichan erogame
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#21 Post by iichan_lolbot »

Something is wrong with canvas in renpy 6.99:

Code: Select all

    python:
        num_points = [3,4]
        point_list = [0,0, 50,50, 20,80, 50,50, 90,50, 90,90, 50,90]
        surf = renpy.display.swdraw.surface(100,100,True)
        canvas = renpy.display.render.Canvas(surf)
        i = 0
        for num in num_points:
            polygon = []
            for k in range(num):
                polygon += [(point_list[i],point_list[i+1])]
                i += 2
            canvas.polygon("#f00", polygon)
        path = renpy.config.basedir.replace("\\","/") + "/" + renpy.version() + ".png"
        pygame.image.save(surf,path)
Windows 8.1, renpy.display.swdraw.surface @ ANGLE render.
Attachments
Ren'Py 6.99.0.202.png
Ren'Py 6.99.0.202.png (562 Bytes) Viewed 2070 times
Ren'Py 6.18.2.729.png
Ren'Py 6.18.2.729.png (624 Bytes) Viewed 2070 times

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#22 Post by PyTom »

iichan_lolbot.

renpy.audio.audio.pause is not a public API. It's an internal detail that may change at any time. It's there to support Android and iOS devices going to sleep.

Similarly:

The renpy.display.swdraw.surface is not a public API. It's an internal detail that may change at any time, and will likely go away at some point in the future, when I drop support for the software renderer. (Probably sometime in the second half of this year.) For something like this - where you're not passing the surface to Ren'Py - you probably want to just use pygame.Surface((100, 100), pygame.SRCALPHA) directly.

renpy.display.render.Canvas is not a public API. It's - you guessed it - an internal detail that may change at any time. The public API is Render.canvas(), but you can also use pygame.draw or pygame.gfxdraw to draw to a surface directly.

And lastly, there was a bug in pygame.image.save that was triggered by the type of surface returned by
renpy.display.swdraw.surface, that corrupted the saves. That bug will be fixed in tonight's nightly.

Please take these "not a public API" warnings seriously - relying on these internal details means your game may break when Ren'Py is upgraded. Public APIs are in the documentation, or have a :doc: string inside Ren'Py. (And you can ask me to expose a function - I will unless there's a good reason not to. The good reason not to expose pause is that we can't save the pause state of music.)
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#23 Post by PyTom »

Samu-kun wrote:For some reason, the drag doesn't work any more on just the preferences screen in Sunrider Academy. Works on any other screen though.

https://gist.github.com/anonymous/423b812224507fb1207a
This isn't a bug in 6.99. It's because you're adding multiple things to the drag, which means Ren'Py sticks a fixed inside it. The fixed expands to take up the entire screen, and so the drag has no place to move to. The behavior is also in 6.18.3 - in fact, I tried it in 6.18.3, and it turns out to have the same problem.

So, why does it work in the Steam version? Turns out someone had commented out the 4 lines in dragdrop.py that keep things onscreen. So when you're moving the preferences window around in the Steam version, you're moving a 1920x1080 block around.

I've gone ahead and added a drag_offscreen property to drag, which will let you move it offscreen. But I'd recommend fixing the code by indenting everything from "if CENSOR == False:" one level, so it's inside the imagemap (and limited to the size of the imagemap).
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Samu-kun
King of Moé
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:49 pm
Organization: Love in Space Inc
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#24 Post by Samu-kun »

Ah great that fixed it, thanks. =w=

User avatar
Samu-kun
King of Moé
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:49 pm
Organization: Love in Space Inc
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#25 Post by Samu-kun »

Welp. Load the Steam edition on the pre-release, press ctrl for about 3 minutes.

https://gist.github.com/anonymous/1d261f384f1f149a47d3

User avatar
Camille
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1227
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 2:43 pm
Completed: Please see http://trash.moe
Projects: the head well lost
Organization: L3
Tumblr: narihira
Deviantart: crownwaltz
itch: lore
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#26 Post by Camille »

Since I've updated to 6.99 the key commands are a bit wonky after exiting the console. After exiting, I can't use any hotkeys at all. Shift+D won't do anything, nor will any of the in-game hotkeys I've come up with. The arrow keys work, but that's about it. The only way to restore the use of these keys is if I alt-tab and then come back to the window. After alt-tabbing, suddenly they all work normally until I bring up the console again.

It's not a huge issue but it's a bit annoying so I thought I'd report it anyway.

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#27 Post by nyaatrap »

Camille wrote:Since I've updated to 6.99 the key commands are a bit wonky after exiting the console. After exiting, I can't use any hotkeys at all. Shift+D won't do anything, nor will any of the in-game hotkeys I've come up with. The arrow keys work, but that's about it. The only way to restore the use of these keys is if I alt-tab and then come back to the window. After alt-tabbing, suddenly they all work normally until I bring up the console again.

It's not a huge issue but it's a bit annoying so I thought I'd report it anyway.
What version of 6.99 are you using? I had the same issue, but I think it's already fixed.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#28 Post by PyTom »

Actually, it was fixed on most platforms, but not the mac. I was able to repeat and fix the problem.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
akakyouryuu
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#29 Post by akakyouryuu »

I changed a renpy window size by a mouse, but the renpy isn't redrawn at the moment.
I tried v6.99.0.202 in windows 7 64bit.
Attachments
downloadtest.png

User avatar
jack_norton
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 4084
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
Completed: Too many! See my homepage
Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99 Prereleases

#30 Post by jack_norton »

I found another problem beside the missing K_PRINT stuff: I managed to make an old game run, playtested it a lot and everything seemed fine, but when I quit the game window crashed. I can't see any log about it, just a "this application has stop responding" standard windows message.
Happens every time, even if I start the game and then immediately quit.
follow me on Image Image Image
computer games

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IrisColt