Empty window default broken?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Vodka
Regular
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:53 pm
Contact:

Empty window default broken?

#1 Post by Vodka »

I'm trying to place config.default_show_empty_window = True in my configs to get the say screen to stay during choices but it's not working.

I've tried deleting persistent files, putting it on -1 or -2 init, etc but it always disappears during menus. Can someone test this configurable in their game?

User avatar
Zetsubou
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:00 am
Completed: See my signature
Github: koroshiya
itch: zetsuboushita
Contact:

Re: Empty window default broken?

#2 Post by Zetsubou »

That isn't quite how that config works.
In your case, what you want to do is simply put some text into the menu statement.
eg.

Code: Select all

menu:
    "This is textbox text"

    "Choice 1":
        pass

    "Choice 2":
        pass
If you want just an empty textbox, changing "This is textbox text" to "" would probably do it.
Finished games
-My games: Sickness, Wander No More, Max Massacre, Humanity Must Perish, Tomboys Need Love Too, Sable's Grimoire, My Heart Grows Fonder, Man And Elf, A Dragon's Treasure, An Adventurer's Gallantry
-Commissions: No One But You, Written In The Sky, Diamond Rose, To Libertad, Catch Canvas, Love Ribbon, Happy Campers, Wolf Tails

Working on:
Sable's Grimoire 2

https://zetsubou.games

User avatar
SinnyROM
Regular
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:25 am
Projects: Blue Birth
Organization: Cosmic Static Games
Contact:

Re: Empty window default broken?

#3 Post by SinnyROM »

What Zetsubou suggested is a good way around it. If you want it to display the say window as empty by default, regardless of what the menu dialogue is, you can use the say screen with your own arguments:

Code: Select all

###
### screens.rpy
###

screen choice(items):
 
    # Create a new instance of the say window:
    # Have the narrator/None character say this every time a choice appears
    # In this case, a new line character
    use say(None, "\n")
 
    # ...
 
init -1:
    # Remove the original say window
    $ config.narrator_menu = False

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]