Custom Textbox Text Placement

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
yaelso
Projects: From the Sugar Plum Kingdom
Tumblr: yaelso
Deviantart: yaelso
itch: yaelso

Custom Textbox Text Placement

#1 Post by yaelso »

Firstly put, I am pretty new to both Ren'Py itself as well as the forums, so I'm still in the process of learning proper coding!
While working on a custom textbox for one of my games, I managed to adjust the padding so that it looked exactly as I had designed in the mockup--which wasn't too difficult, but something caused the text to sink down to the very bottom. All in all, I was aiming to have the names listed in the first scroll and have the body-text begin around halfway to said scroll's right. I did not have this issue before implementing the custom box, and I haven't worked on anything else today.

I've combed over the code quite a few times now, but I'm just not sure what is causing the issue or how I should go about fixing it. I followed the initial format examples that were listed in the cookbook, so the textbox section looks as such;

Code: Select all

style.window.background = Image("gui/tb_ground.png")

style.window.left_margin = 0
    style.window.right_margin = 0
    style.window.top_margin = 0
    style.window.bottom_margin = 0

style.window.left_padding = 5
    style.window.right_padding = 0
    style.window.top_padding = 650
    style.window.bottom_padding = 10

style.window.yminimum = 277
If anyone has any idea as to what I should do, I'd appreciate it! (--Also, for the sake of saying, the screen is 1280 by 720!)
Attachments
errorscreenshot.png

philat