Ren'Py+Android. How to make app take up whole screen?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
franny

Ren'Py+Android. How to make app take up whole screen?

#1 Post by franny »

(English isn't my first language, please bear with me. On top of that, I'm new to ren'py, and dev in general, so this might be a total noob question. I haven't read much of the documentation yet.)

So, I've compiled it into apk and all that, and it works. I've tried it on two phones so far. It works okay on my bigger screen phone, but there are black bars on either side. I think it has something to do with the aspect ratio, or something, but I'm not sure.
It would be nice if there's a way to make the background and GUI things scale to fit the whole screen, but have the sprites stay the same. Since phone screens tend to be of different sizes, I wonder how that can work. Is there a way for me to detect the screen resolution when it first runs and... I don't know, maybe scale and place elements based on percentages...? I'm rather lost.
And I want to be able to have the text sizes and button sizes different for each different screen size, like with smaller screens having larger text and stuff, so the user would have a better time?

What should I do? Please point me in the right direction. Thank you in advance.

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

Re: Ren'Py+Android. How to make app take up whole screen?

#2 Post by PyTom »