Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Message
Author
User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#16 Post by PyTom »

I'm a little confused, as I'm not able to make the auto problem manifest in the tutorial. Can someone explain to me what to do to make it happen? Or is this a game-specific bug?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#17 Post by PyTom »

Okay, I believe I fixed the auto problem. The change I came up with was to edit renpy/text/text.py line 1675 to change

Code: Select all

    def get_time(self):
        """
        Returns the amount of time, in seconds, it will take to display this
        text.
        """

        layout = self.get_layout()

        if layout is None:
            return 60.0

        return layout.max_time


to

Code: Select all

    def get_time(self):
        """
        Returns the amount of time, in seconds, it will take to display this
        text.
        """

        layout = self.get_layout()

        if layout is None:
            return 0.0

        return layout.max_time

That is, changing the 60.0 to a 0.0. If people could confirm this fixes the problem, I'd appreciate it.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#18 Post by nyaatrap »

Thanks, it fixed for me.

User avatar
korova
Veteran
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Completed: Ivy, Chocolate, Time, Clair Obscur
Projects: Writing exercises, The House [Nano18]
Tumblr: korova08
itch: korova
Location: Normandie, France
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#19 Post by korova »

Works for me too.

Thedarkjoa
Regular
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#20 Post by Thedarkjoa »

Lately when I try to compile android 've been getting this problem , does anyone know how to fix it ?
Attachments
1.jpg

User avatar
Kal
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 9:44 am
Projects: Aurelion: The Coin
Organization: Human Library | Aurelians
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#21 Post by Kal »

Same here (only I'm using Debian):

Code: Select all

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
  File "game/android.rpy", line 445, in script
  File "game/android.rpy", line 447, in <module>
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/android-sdk-r24.4.1/extras/google/play_apk_expansion/downloader_library/project.properties'

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
  File "game/android.rpy", line 445, in script
  File "/media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/renpy/ast.py", line 806, in execute
    renpy.python.py_exec_bytecode(self.code.bytecode, self.hide, store=self.store)
  File "/media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/renpy/python.py", line 1577, in py_exec_bytecode
    exec bytecode in globals, locals
  File "game/android.rpy", line 447, in <module>
  File "/media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/buildlib/rapt/install_sdk.py", line 263, in install_sdk
    get_packages(interface)
  File "/media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/buildlib/rapt/install_sdk.py", line 186, in get_packages
    with open(plat.path("android-sdk/extras/google/play_apk_expansion/downloader_library/project.properties"), "r") as f:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/android-sdk-r24.4.1/extras/google/play_apk_expansion/downloader_library/project.properties'

Linux-4.4.0-1-amd64-x86_64-with-debian-stretch-sid
Ren'Py 6.99.10.1227
Ren'Py Launcher 6.99.10.1227
Indeed, there's no /extras folder under /media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/android-sdk-r24.4.1. (On the other hand, when I compiled an Android distribution in January, it worked fine, and /media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/android-sdk-r23/extras/ is still present, with all its subfolders.)

I had a look at the android.txt file that is generated in the /tmp folder of my game project. It says:

Code: Select all

I'm compiling a short test program, to see if you have a working JDK on your
system.





The JDK is present and working. Good!

Apache ANT has already been unpacked.

The Android SDK has already been unpacked.

I'm about to download and install the required Android packages. This might take a while.
Refresh Sources:
  Fetching https://dl.google.com/android/repository/addons_list-2.xml
  Validate XML
  Parse XML
  Fetched Add-ons List successfully
  Refresh Sources
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/repository-11.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/repository-11.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/repository-11.xml
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/addon.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/addon.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/addon.xml
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/glass/addon.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/glass/addon.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/glass/addon.xml
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/extras/intel/addon.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/extras/intel/addon.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/extras/intel/addon.xml
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android/sys-img.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android/sys-img.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android/sys-img.xml
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android-wear/sys-img.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android-wear/sys-img.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android-wear/sys-img.xml
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android-tv/sys-img.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android-tv/sys-img.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/android-tv/sys-img.xml
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/google_apis/sys-img.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/google_apis/sys-img.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/google_apis/sys-img.xml
  Fetching URL: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/x86/addon-x86.xml
  Validate XML: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/x86/addon-x86.xml
  Parse XML:    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/sys-img/x86/addon-x86.xml
Error: Ignoring unknown package filter 'extra-google-play_licensing'
Error: Ignoring unknown package filter 'extra-google-play_apk_expansion'
Warning: The package filter removed all packages. There is nothing to install.
         Please consider trying to update again without a package filter.




I'm updating the library packages.
I don't know what that means but I hope it helps.

User avatar
theCodeCat
Regular
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:40 pm
Projects: Lucid9, Mystic Destinies: Serendipity of Aeons
Skype: theCodeCat
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#22 Post by theCodeCat »

I recently had that problem with Android as well.
I think some of the google-play libraries have gotten renamed preventing RAPT from finding them.

I was able to get my Android build to work by:
1. Going into the RAPT android SDK folder (I:\renpy-6.18.3-sdk\rapt\android-sdk-r24.4.1 on my machine)
2. Using the SDK Manager application to download all necessary packages, which includes "Google Play APK Expansion library" and "Google Play Licensing Library"
3. Going into "extras/google" and renaming the "market_apk_expansion" & "market_licensing" folders to "play_apk_expansion" & "play_licensing" respectively.

After renaming those folders RAPT was able to make a build and everything seems to be working.
Hopefully this helps someone :D

Thedarkjoa
Regular
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#23 Post by Thedarkjoa »

theCodeCat wrote:I recently had that problem with Android as well.
I think some of the google-play libraries have gotten renamed preventing RAPT from finding them.

I was able to get my Android build to work by:
1. Going into the RAPT android SDK folder (I:\renpy-6.18.3-sdk\rapt\android-sdk-r24.4.1 on my machine)
2. Using the SDK Manager application to download all necessary packages, which includes "Google Play APK Expansion library" and "Google Play Licensing Library"
3. Going into "extras/google" and renaming the "market_apk_expansion" & "market_licensing" folders to "play_apk_expansion" & "play_licensing" respectively.

After renaming those folders RAPT was able to make a build and everything seems to be working.
Hopefully this helps someone :D
Dude i love you ( i love you in the most heterosexual way ), tanks it works :)

User avatar
Kal
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 9:44 am
Projects: Aurelion: The Coin
Organization: Human Library | Aurelians
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#24 Post by Kal »

Thank you, theCodeCat!

I followed your instructions verbatim, and now I can start building an Android package. However, I get the following error:

Code: Select all

Updating source code.

Updating build files.
Resolved location of library project to: /media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/android-sdk-r24.4.1/extras/google/play_apk_expansion/downloader_library
Updated and renamed default.properties to project.properties
Updated local.properties
Added file ./build.xml
Updated file ./proguard-project.txt
It seems that there are sub-projects. If you want to update them
please use the --subprojects parameter.




Creating assets directory.

Packaging internal data.

I'm using Ant to build the package.
Buildfile: /media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/build.xml

-set-mode-check:

-set-release-mode:

-release-obfuscation-check:
     [echo] proguard.config is ${proguard.config}

-pre-build:

-check-env:
 [checkenv] Android SDK Tools Revision 25.1.3
 [checkenv] Installed at /media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/android-sdk-r24.4.1

-setup:
     [echo] Project Name: AurelionTheCoin-160501
  [gettype] Project Type: Application

-build-setup:
[getbuildtools] Using latest Build Tools: 23.0.3
     [echo] Resolving Build Target for AurelionTheCoin-160501...
[gettarget] Project Target:   Android 5.1.1
[gettarget] API level:        22
     [echo] ----------
     [echo] Creating output directories if needed...
     [echo] ----------
     [echo] Resolving Dependencies for AurelionTheCoin-160501...

BUILD FAILED
/media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/android-sdk-r24.4.1/tools/ant/build.xml:573: ../market_licensing resolve to a path with no project.properties file for project /media/sda2/home/k/setups/renpy-newest/rapt/android-sdk-r24.4.1/extras/google/play_apk_expansion/downloader_library

Total time: 0 seconds




The build seems to have failed.
Perhaps I should rename "market_licensing" to "play_licensing" somewhere else too?

Thedarkjoa
Regular
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#25 Post by Thedarkjoa »

now i was getting this error
" Google Play support is enabled, but build.google_play_key is not set. Please set in your game. "
how i fix that?

User avatar
theCodeCat
Regular
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:40 pm
Projects: Lucid9, Mystic Destinies: Serendipity of Aeons
Skype: theCodeCat
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#26 Post by theCodeCat »

@Kal

I think your build might work if you do a partial refresh of your setup by selecting the "Install SDK & Create Keys" option (you can skip the key generation part).
If you already have the packages installed it shouldn't try to re-download them but it will do some initialization stuff that may fix your problem.

But before you do, please backup your game folder in case my advice causes something important to be overwritten. I'm not an expert on how RAPT works so there could be unexpected side-effects.

Edit:
@Thedarkjoa
You need to configure two build options which are described in the docs here: https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/android. ... nsion-apks

User avatar
Kal
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 9:44 am
Projects: Aurelion: The Coin
Organization: Human Library | Aurelians
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#27 Post by Kal »

It did. Thanks a gigabyte, theCodeCat!

And now it's running on my smartphone just fine and dandy. :D

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#28 Post by nyaatrap »

init -1: config.developer is ignored in this version after build?
It can be fixed to bring it to a higher init, but I want it more clearer on how it works in the next version.
I'm making builds for developers and I wanted to set config.developer always True for builds, but it looks set to False automatically.
Last edited by nyaatrap on Sun May 15, 2016 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#29 Post by PyTom »

If you set it, it should be respected. (As long as you set it to something sensible like True or False and not the magic word "auto".)

The big change is that since Ren'Py now can set it automatically, there's very little need to set it by hand.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.10 Released

#30 Post by nyaatrap »

hmm looks like so. A build with the question game respects config.developer, but my game is somewhat not... I'll investigate what is the problem.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users