Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix this?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Message
Author
username123
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:27 am
Contact:

Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix this?

#1 Post by username123 »

This is for a windows distribution. I have a converted 48x48 icon.ico file, and the line in options.rpy is:

config.window_icon = "icon.ico"

I've also tried referencing a 256x256 .png, a 48x48.png, and a 256x256 .ico file and none of those worked. I made sure I converted .png to .ico using a program, and not just changing the file extension name.

The icon is in the main folder (the folder one up from the game folder). The application icon is still the default ren'py icon, and this is the case on the desktop when I test the installer. I have tried restarting my computer after testing incase it is a windows cache issue. It is still the default logo. I am wanting to change it so that the application icon is the correct one for the game.

I was trying to find where the default ren'py icon is stored so I could just switch that out, but I wasn't even able to find it in the folders. It's so mysterious. :?

I tried looking it up on the forums but this was the most relevant that I found http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... =8&t=16953 . However, it is from 2012 and I tried following it but it didn't help. I am so lost. :(

User avatar
vollschauer
Veteran
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 9:38 am
Github: vollschauer
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#2 Post by vollschauer »

Here are the doc's : https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/config.html

Put the icon.png to your image folder...

Code: Select all

config.windows_icon = "icon.png" # This should be a PNG format file.
Put the icon.ico & icon.icns (for mac) to your game root folder (where the README.html is ...)

username123
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#3 Post by username123 »

I've changed that and it still is not working (I restarted my computer too). I have the folder with a lot of the images with a different name, so I tried created an images folder for that too.

User avatar
MimirollCookie
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:05 am
Completed: Best Friends (DRAMA), Sweet and Spices (NaNo16)
Projects: Cupid's Wish, Best Friends Deux
Organization: Pastelle Studios
Deviantart: MimirollCookie
Location: A place where rainbows and unicorns collide. ^0^
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#4 Post by MimirollCookie »

Try.... Deleting your Ren'Py then reinstall again.
To me, it works every time.
Image
"If they can do it, you can do it too! make them do it. They can do it, right?" :lol:
Getting a new laptop. Hopefully going back to VN making! (BWAHAHA)

username123
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#5 Post by username123 »

That didn't work.

User avatar
Zetsubou
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:00 am
Completed: See my signature
Github: koroshiya
itch: zetsuboushita
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#6 Post by Zetsubou »

vollschauer wrote: Put the icon.png to your image folder...

Code: Select all

config.windows_icon = "icon.png" # This should be a PNG format file.
If you're putting icon.png in your images folder, it should be

Code: Select all

config.windows_icon = "icon"
instead, as the automatic image definition will strip the extension.

Using automatic image definitions for config variables might run you into trouble with the order of init tasks though, so I'd suggest putting icon.png in your game folder, then using the aforementioned

Code: Select all

config.windows_icon = "icon.png"
line.
Finished games
-My games: Sickness, Wander No More, Max Massacre, Humanity Must Perish, Tomboys Need Love Too, Sable's Grimoire, My Heart Grows Fonder, Man And Elf, A Dragon's Treasure, An Adventurer's Gallantry
-Commissions: No One But You, Written In The Sky, Diamond Rose, To Libertad, Catch Canvas, Love Ribbon, Happy Campers, Wolf Tails

Working on:
Sable's Grimoire 2

https://zetsubou.games

User avatar
MimirollCookie
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:05 am
Completed: Best Friends (DRAMA), Sweet and Spices (NaNo16)
Projects: Cupid's Wish, Best Friends Deux
Organization: Pastelle Studios
Deviantart: MimirollCookie
Location: A place where rainbows and unicorns collide. ^0^
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#7 Post by MimirollCookie »

Oh. Sorry if I wasted your time. ;_;
Image
"If they can do it, you can do it too! make them do it. They can do it, right?" :lol:
Getting a new laptop. Hopefully going back to VN making! (BWAHAHA)

username123
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#8 Post by username123 »

I appreciate you trying to help. <3

Edit: Does anyone know where the Ren'py icon is so I can just switch that out? It's weird that I can't even find the image. The other stuff didn't work.

alex.theoto
Regular
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 3:11 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#9 Post by alex.theoto »

Strange. It works for me.

Code: Select all

    config.window_icon="t0274679.png"
In both game and image folders.
It works even with .jpg format...

Is your image damaged? Can you verify this? Open it with some image editor and see check if the editor report any glitch on the image

User avatar
vollschauer
Veteran
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 9:38 am
Github: vollschauer
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#10 Post by vollschauer »

The funny thing: I have checked this under ubuntu linux and have to say that there is just a "question mark" in the unity launcher instead of the icon.png

alex.theoto
Regular
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 3:11 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#11 Post by alex.theoto »

Can you test with another image?

User avatar
vollschauer
Veteran
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 9:38 am
Github: vollschauer
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#12 Post by vollschauer »

I have seen it once working.... lets start it 20 times and 1 time you can see the launcher icon
could that be timing / init problem?

alex.theoto
Regular
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 3:11 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#13 Post by alex.theoto »

Can you redownload renpy? Just in case...

User avatar
korova
Veteran
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Completed: Ivy, Chocolate, Time, Clair Obscur
Projects: Writing exercises, The House [Nano18]
Tumblr: korova08
itch: korova
Location: Normandie, France
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#14 Post by korova »

vollschauer wrote:I have seen it once working.... lets start it 20 times and 1 time you can see the launcher icon
could that be timing / init problem?
I've got the same kind of "problem" with Debian linux.

When I'm developping my games, the icon I coded appears on a random basis in my dock. So sometimes I have it, and sometimes I have a question mark icon.
It doesn't happen with de definitive builds though.

I just leave it be, and don't worry about it...

User avatar
vollschauer
Veteran
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 9:38 am
Github: vollschauer
Contact:

Re: Icon is stuck as the default Ren'py icon. How do I fix t

#15 Post by vollschauer »

Well I got this on my final build. And actually I wanted to release it yesterday/today .... :/
It's just a cosmetic thing but I don't like to know there is something wrong.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users