Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Message
Author
User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#16 Post by nyaatrap »

While launcher uses gui.selected_color, actual game uses gui.accent_color on selected buttons.
Clipboard 1.png

User avatar
NocturneLight
Regular
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 1:20 pm
Projects: Unsound Minds: The Clarevine Epoch
Organization: Reminiscent 64
Tumblr: Reminiscent64
itch: Reminiscent64
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#17 Post by NocturneLight »

I'm unsure whether this is a bug or was intended but I'll mention it anyway.

In the current version of Ren'Py, this code put text in the dead center of the screen:

Code: Select all

define none = Character(None, what_xalign = 0.5, window_yalign = 0.5, window_xfill = False, window_yfill = False, window_background=None)

However, in the Ren'Py Pre-Released build, the text will only be in the dead center with this code:

Code: Select all

define none = Character(None, what_xalign = 0.5, window_yalign = 0.5, window_xfill = True, window_yfill = False, window_background=None)

Previously window_xfill was set to False. Now window_xfill has to be set to True.

I thought it was worth mentioning.
The Old Guard is at His Limit. The time is near to usher in the New Guard.

The Great Horror is soon to be free.

Clarevine is the key.


"Unsound Minds: The Clarevine Epoch" is a yuri visual novel that shatters english visual novel norms and aims to blend Christianity and the Cthulhu Mythos to tell a deep and dark story that you'll enjoy. You can follow the Kickstarter here.

Stay sound and persist through the chaos,
NocturneLight

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#18 Post by PyTom »

Okay, got a lot done this weekend, and I'm ready to reply to everything here:

nyaatrap @ viewtopic.php?p=423115#p423115

vpgrid doesn't take transpose, as it doesn't make sense. When you give it cols but not rows, it fills left to right first. When you give it rows but not cols, it fills top to bottom first.

nyaatrap @ viewtopic.php?p=423123#p423123

I think you already know this, but I've added rollback_identifier to HistoryEntry, and a RollbackToIdentifier() action.

nyaatrap @ viewtopic.php?p=423132#p423132

I agree, and took your second suggestion. gui.rpy has been split into gui.rpy and screens.rpy.

ketskari @ viewtopic.php?p=423170#p423170

config.font_replacement_map hasn't changed. It should work the same way it always did. You may need to change the font you're using.

The lack of support for [prefix_] in lint is something I need to fix. The first to problems aren't - we use the scene and show statement to give examples of placeholders, and the creator is expected to either remove those statements or add the images before releasing (or running lint).

xavimat @ viewtopic.php?f=8&t=39594#p423267

The translations page now has a new tool that can extract translations from an existing project. You can use this to extract the translations from the Spanish template, and move them into the Spanish translation of the launcher.

The bug was fixed.

ketskari @ viewtopic.php?f=8&t=39594#p423273

The reason for preferring a fixed height is that it lets us use vpgrid, which is way more efficient than a normal viewport, since vpgrid only displays the cells that are on screen. When we might have 250 history entries, this should help performance significantly. That being said, I think it makes sense to make this configurable, so gui.history_height can now be None.

Tayruu @ viewtopic.php?f=8&t=39594#p423322

If the readback script is legacy, you might have to use config.enforce_window_max_size to fix it. I think the current behavior change makes sense.

Can you send me one of the corrupt files so I can poke around in it?


i_jemin @ viewtopic.php?p=423358#p423358

I was unable to repeat this. This new version does use window auto by default, which will fade out the window before scene statements. But that's intended behavior, and can be configured in the new options.rpy.

xela @ viewtopic.php?p=423391#p423391
Nyaatrap @ viewtopic.php?p=423440#p423440
NocturneLight @ viewtopic.php?p=423507#p423507

Fixed.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Tayruu
Regular
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:57 pm

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#19 Post by Tayruu »

PyTom wrote:Can you send me one of the corrupt files so I can poke around in it?
Here we go, this is gui\button\idle_background: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/131 ... ground.png

It's possibly the only broken image. I presume the image itself is supposed to be empty.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#20 Post by PyTom »

Yeah, that's just an empty file. I'm not sure why that happened, but you should be able to generate it by going to the Change GUI screen and choosing the second choice.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

AXYPB
Regular
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:04 am
Github: AXYPB
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#21 Post by AXYPB »

For setting config and preferences variables, is using define and default statements the new preferred way of doing so rather than setting them in init python blocks? Is this encouraged for new releases in 6.99.10 until 6.99.11 is released?

User avatar
trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3712
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:33 pm
Projects: A Close Shave
Location: Medford, MA
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#22 Post by trooper6 »

As far as I know, default has been the preferred way of doing things since 6.99.4 and the new define since 6.99.7
Change Log for 6.99.4: https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/changelo ... -py-6-99-4
Change Log for 6.99.7: https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/changelo ... provements
A Close Shave:
*Last Thing Done (Aug 17): Finished coding emotions and camera for 4/10 main labels.
*Currently Doing: Coding of emotions and camera for the labels--On 5/10
*First Next thing to do: Code in all CG and special animation stuff
*Next Next thing to do: Set up film animation
*Other Thing to Do: Do SFX and Score (maybe think about eye blinks?)
Check out My Clock Cookbook Recipe: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 51&t=21978

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#23 Post by PyTom »

Define and default grew the ability to set config and preference variables in 6.99.11. So you shouldn't use them until you're on 6.99.11 - they probably won't work right.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Donmai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1960
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:45 am
Completed: Toire No Hanako, Li'l Red [NaNoRenO 2013], The One in LOVE [NaNoRenO 2014], Running Blade [NaNoRenO 2016], The Other Question, To The Girl With Sunflowers
Projects: Slumberland
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#24 Post by Donmai »

I've successfuly tested 6.99.11 on my Windows 7 machine. However, on my wife's Windows 8 laptop I had the "Unsupported image format" error. Trying to regenerate the images, or recreate, the GUI didn't solve the problem. But then, I noticed the error only happens when I try to create a project using the 1066x600 pixels resolution, and the problematic file is always 'idle_background.png'.
Image
No, sorry! You must be mistaking me for someone else.
TOIRE NO HANAKO (A Story About Fear)

User avatar
nyaatrap
Crawling Chaos
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:37 am
Location: Kimashi Tower, Japan
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#25 Post by nyaatrap »

button/idle_background.png in 1066x600 game is 0 byte file for me.

BTW, I think it's better to move the following code from screen.rpy to another (options.rpy or gui.rpy). Because this isn't a screen element.

Code: Select all

## Window Icon #################################################################

## This is the icon displayed on the taskbar or dock.
define config.window_icon = "gui/window_icon.png"

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#26 Post by PyTom »

Thanks everyone! I'm guessing something is going wrong with the small resolution, and I'll try to fix it.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Aoide
Regular
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#27 Post by Aoide »

New projects can't be created if their paths contain folder names that contain non-ascii characters (my Ren'py project folder is in a path that contains folders with Japanese names). As far as I can tell, this only applies to creating projects; my existing projects seem to be running fine.

Here's the error message I get:

Code: Select all

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
  File "game/gui7.rpy", line 312, in script
  File "game/gui7.rpy", line 348, in <module>
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 360, in error_handling
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 327, in error
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 293, in common
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 123, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 123, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 133, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 136, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 139, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 179, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 182, in execute
UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0x8a in position 48: ordinal not in range(128)

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
  File "game/gui7.rpy", line 312, in script
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\ast.py", line 805, in execute
    renpy.python.py_exec_bytecode(self.code.bytecode, self.hide, store=self.store)
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\python.py", line 1598, in py_exec_bytecode
    exec bytecode in globals, locals
  File "game/gui7.rpy", line 348, in <module>
  File "/home/tom/ab/x64lucid-deps/install/lib/python2.7/contextlib.py", line 35, in __exit__
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 360, in error_handling
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 327, in error
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 293, in common
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\exports.py", line 2488, in call_screen
    rv = renpy.ui.interact(mouse="screen", type="screen", roll_forward=roll_forward)
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\ui.py", line 278, in interact
    rv = renpy.game.interface.interact(roll_forward=roll_forward, **kwargs)
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\display\core.py", line 2506, in interact
    scene_lists.replace_transient()
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\display\core.py", line 795, in replace_transient
    self.remove(layer, tag)
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\display\core.py", line 1082, in remove
    self.hide_or_replace(layer, remove_index, "hide")
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\display\core.py", line 1006, in hide_or_replace
    d = oldsle.displayable._hide(now - st, now - at, prefix)
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\display\screen.py", line 438, in _hide
    self.update()
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\display\screen.py", line 573, in update
    self.screen.function(**self.scope)
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 123, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 123, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 133, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 136, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 139, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 179, in execute
  File "game/interface.rpy", line 182, in execute
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\text\text.py", line 1335, in __init__
    self.set_text(text, scope, substitute)
  File "D:\Program Files\Ren'py Prerlease (6.99.11)\renpy\text\text.py", line 1413, in set_text
    i = unicode(i)
UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0x8a in position 48: ordinal not in range(128)

Windows-7-6.1.7601-SP1
Ren'Py 6.99.11.1625
Ren'Py Launcher 6.99.11.1625

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#28 Post by PyTom »

Aoide, is your system set to a Japanese encoding by default? If not, this is a known bug. If so, I have a new issue to fix.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#29 Post by PyTom »

6.99.11.1689)

I've updated the prerelease. There have been a lot of changes to the GUI template. The big change is that it's been split in half, with the variables in gui.rpy and the styles and screens in screens.rpy. Hopefully, this makes things less intimidating. (You'll have to generate a new GUI to see these changes.)

* Reloading at the main menu leaves us at the main menu.
* Generating the 1066x600 gui works again.
* Lint works with [prefix_].
* HistoryEntries support a new rollback_identifier field, and the RollbackToIdentifier can rollback to them. Rollback also works from within the game menu.
* gui.history_height can be None to support variable-height history entries.
* The indonesian translation has been updated.

And some other changes. Thanks to everyone who's tested so far - Ren'Py is way better thanks to the feedback. It's hard for me to dispassionately evaluate my own work, so having other people test is very valuable.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
Aoide
Regular
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py 6.99.11 Pre-Released

#30 Post by Aoide »

PyTom wrote:Aoide, is your system set to a Japanese encoding by default? If not, this is a known bug. If so, I have a new issue to fix.
My Win 7 was installed as and runs in Japanese, so I assume it's set to Japanese encoding as default. Is there anything specific you want me to check?

Also, unrelated, but is there any chance you can add a way to turn Auto-Forward Time off in the default Preferences screen? The slider just adjust how fast/slow it is without giving you the ability to opt out of the feature, which is kind of inconvenient.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]