Character Select Menu, Branching Paths, and Multiple Endings

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Ethereal Grace

Character Select Menu, Branching Paths, and Multiple Endings

#1 Post by Ethereal Grace »

I am very new to using Ren'Py and I have no experience at all with script language. That said, I have figured out the basics. Enough that I can make a straightforward visual novel. I've figured out how to let the player input their own name and I really would like to make a Shall We Date type otome with a prologue and then a character selection screen where the player would choose a love interest.
I'm adapting a WWFFY quiz series of mine into an otome. I have 6 love interests in mind and I'd like each love interest to have two possible endings.
How would that work and what would the script look like for the character menu and the various routes branching out from there? This may be a dumb question and I may not be phrasing it very well! I apologize if that's the case.
I've spent all day searching for answers but either haven't found anything specific about multiple endings or what I did find went over my head.
Thanks!

Locher

Re: Character Select Menu, Branching Paths, and Multiple End

#2 Post by Locher »

>Character Selection Screen
How about an Imagemap where the user is using the mouse to click on the person?
You split the entire screen into 6 proportional segments with a picture of the 6 persons.
On mouse-hover the name will be displayed and the person smiles at you or something, dunno.
Clicking on the person's picture will jump to the corresponding label and you can start the story.