Ideal Resolution Size for Desktop + Mobile

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
WinterMochie
Regular

Ideal Resolution Size for Desktop + Mobile

#1 Post by WinterMochie »

Hi everyone! I am a complete newbie to VN making with zero development experience. As I am starting, one thing that is confusing me greatly is the resolution. I want to create a desktop game that can also scale down to mobile.

What is the typical resolution used for desktop and iphones in pixels? Especially when factoring in Retina?
-Is it ok to use a HUGE resolution size so everything will be sharp across all systems? I'm just not sure how it works if it will look wonky on one screen or unified across different platforms.

If I start off with desktop resolutions, will it scale down naturally for mobile in the right ratio? Or do I need to fix up ratio of pictures?
-I want to release on iOS so I looked at the resolution of iphones from 4s to 6s+. I'm just confused because the sizes are all different so I'm not sure how it will scale across all the iphones either. Like do I need to fix up ratio for everything or will it scale naturally across them all? Especially if I am drawing in resolution size for 6s+ and then 4s resolution is like way smaller.

If someone could help explain the ratio, the numbers of pixels that people typically use for VN, and if you have any tips for creating for desktop & mobile that would seriously be a huge help to me, especially because I would like to release on mobile first then desktop.

I am very thankful!!! Thanks for the help in advance! :)

Pando
Regular
Projects: Crossfire