Quick menu?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Catboo12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:36 pm
Contact:

Quick menu?

#1 Post by Catboo12 »

Okay, so recently I downloaded a new GUI for my game because I don't like the default one so the GUI is completely coded differently (obviously).

At the start of my game the player can type their name the code for this is:

Code: Select all

$ player_name = renpy.input("Hello! Thank you for signing up with Summer fun. What is your name?") 
This is correct because it worked previously. However, after adding the new GUI, now when I start the game and try to use this code to have the user type their name this error message appears:

Code: Select all

File "game/script.rpy", line 100, in script
    $ player_name = renpy.input("Hello! Thank you for signing up with Summer fun. What is your name?")
  File "game/script.rpy", line 100, in <module>
    $ player_name = renpy.input("Hello! Thank you for signing up with Summer fun. What is your name?")
  File "game/screens.rpy", line 106, in prepare_screen
    screen input:
  File "game/screens.rpy", line 106, in prepare
    screen input:
  File "game/screens.rpy", line 108, in prepare
    window style "input_window":
  File "game/screens.rpy", line 108, in prepare
    window style "input_window":
  File "game/screens.rpy", line 109, in prepare
    has vbox
  File "game/screens.rpy", line 109, in prepare
    has vbox
Exception: A screen named quick_menu does not exist.


So, I checked the screens.rpy and this is my code for inputs:

Code: Select all

screen input:

    window style "input_window":
        has vbox

        text prompt style "input_prompt"
        input id "input" style "input_text"
        
        use quick_menu
I don't understand why it keeps coming up with this error. I don't even know if the input code is important to fixing the error. Can someone please help? I am so lost :shock:

User avatar
Ocelot
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2404
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:35 am
Github: MiiNiPaa
Discord: MiiNiPaa#4384
Contact:

Re: Quick menu?

#2 Post by Ocelot »

It looks like you do not have screen named quick_menu. You probably have lost it in the transition process.

Moving existing project from old GUI to new one is a pain. It changes structure of default screens, changes styles to get values from other places and so on.

I found that best way to migrate your project is:
  1. Backup screens.rpy and options.rpy files.
  2. Create new project with new gui.
  3. Copy gui.rpy, screens.rpy and options.rpy from new project to old one, overwriting files.
  4. Move your user-defined screens to new screens.rpy file.
  5. Make your project runnable again.
  6. Add changes to standard screens from old screens and options files to new, adapting when needed.
< < insert Rick Cook quote here > >

Catboo12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick menu?

#3 Post by Catboo12 »

Thank you :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Ocelot