Can Ren'Py make a game like this?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
CarlyJane

Can Ren'Py make a game like this?

#1 Post by CarlyJane »

I was on another game engine website and someone recommended this visual novel engine to me...I don't know if it can make something like this? I've never used ren'py before but played many of my favorite games on here and have used an engine sort of like this one.

I did read some previous post on here about creating maps and allowing the person to click on it for example if a player were to click on a map it would enlarge like another image would show up? Wondering that too. :shock:

May not be what I'm looking for I don't know, the interface reminds me a bit of episode interactive?

So yes, I'm trying to create a point and click style game. Like the images I posted.
Attachments
for gif-auyibtmh.gif
kathy.jpg

Mammon
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Pervert&Yandere, Stalker&Yandere
Projects: Roses Of The Thorn Prince

Re: Can Ren'Py make a game like this?

#2 Post by Mammon »

It's possible, I've seen ren'py games with point-and-click before and I have a very shallow understanding how it might work, but it's difficult. (Don't take my word for it, the possible nor the difficult part, I have no experience with this) Especially for a beginner, since you'll be working with raw code. If you can affort it or make good art and writing yourself, it might be adviseable to look for a programmer with experience if you don't have it yourself. If you do, then yes, ren'py can and probably will work for you.