Use of renpy for a project

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
goh69

Use of renpy for a project

#1 Post by goh69 »

Hi, im a student on the last year of my course (technical management and programming of computer systems) and i have to do a project that involves the programming of either a website, game, etc.. and im planning on doing a visual novel and it seems that renpy is the best for me to use but this project has some few set rules:

The code needs to be "complex" so basically the more complex the code the better is the grade i get, so while renpy offers features like a main menu that lets the user start a new game, load a game, or adjust settings, etc... i would like to know if that can be disabled, i would like to do my own menu and program the settings myself, every little bit of code is important.

Another aded rule is that i also need a database and i dont know if renpy supports database systems like SQL, if it supports in which way can i use it, a vn doesnt need a database but i have to find a way to use it.

Help would be appreciated, this is a project that will decide my future, if renpy cant offer me this which other software should i use to make a vn? have in note that i can also add like rpg elements if needed.

Thanks for the attention.

Ocelot
Lemma-Class Veteran
Github: MiiNiPaa
Discord: MiiNiPaa#4384

Re: Use of renpy for a project

#2 Post by Ocelot »

basically the more complex the code the better is the grade i get
Why RenPy then? If you were to reimplement majority of RenPy features yourself, you would write a lot of very complex code.