Parsing XML [SOLVED o_o]

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
gas
Miko-Class Veteran

Parsing XML [SOLVED o_o]

#1 Post by gas »

I'm thinking about using an XML file to store a (large) number of values. Then use a parser to convert those data into a [list [of list]]

The tree is something like:
<TREE>
<element>
<NAME>poppy</NAME>
<LEGS>
<feet>1</feet>
<feet>3</feet>
<feet>5</feet>
</LEGS>
</element>
</TREE>

and must return:
$ sillyness=[(poppy,(1,3,5)),...]
for each 'element'.

Being a total noob in parsing stuff, can someone please post a point by point guide to have a game parsing an XML tree?
The guide must include what to download and what to put in the distributable game.
I know about BeautifulSoup, but I'm totally lost with lxml.

Thank you.
Last edited by gas on Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If you want to debate on a reply I gave to your posts, please QUOTE ME or i'll not be notified about. << now red so probably you'll see it.

10 ? "RENPY"
20 GOTO 10

RUN

SuperbowserX
Veteran

Re: Parsing XML

#2 Post by SuperbowserX »

Are you trying to make a 2d array? You could use something like this.

https://www.renpy.org/wiki/renpy/doc/co ... _from_file

From there you could study up on the procedure for reading lines from files in Python. Google is your friend!

gas
Miko-Class Veteran

Re: Parsing XML

#3 Post by gas »

SuperbowserX wrote:Are you trying to make a 2d array? You could use something like this.

https://www.renpy.org/wiki/renpy/doc/co ... _from_file

From there you could study up on the procedure for reading lines from files in Python. Google is your friend!