Draggable Background-JPGs [with x-y-limits w/o story-break]?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Conquestus

Draggable Background-JPGs [with x-y-limits w/o story-break]?

#1 Post by Conquestus »

Hi girls and guys. I need to ask for your assistance, I hope you can help me.

Let me explain first what I'm trying to do. My idea seems pretty simple, but since I'm a total noob to renpy + python, it's pretty hard for me. Maybe you can help me with that, I would appreciate it.

All I want to do, is to make background images draggable ingame (with limits based on the maximum size of the used image, so that the image can't be dragged over the borders of the image [image size > screen size]), while the story can continue by pressing space ONLY or something like that (not by mouseclick, because it's needed for dragging).

I tried something like this:

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Code: Select all

#Define Pictures
image bg draggablePicture0001_WorldMap = "draggablePictures/0001.jpg"

# [heres some relevant code]

init:

# [heres some other relevant code]

label draggablePicture1:
 scene bg draggablePicture0001_WorldMap at Position(xpos=0.5, ypos=0.5, xanchor=0.5, yanchor=0.5, draggable=True) with fade
 "Mind" "I can drag the map to explore the world."
 "Mind" "Hm? Wait... What?"
 "Mind" "Whoops... The picture showed up, but isn't draggable... I'm such a noob."
 return
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////