how to make a continuous text?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

how to make a continuous text?

#1 Post by mahyuringon »

im planning to make a continuous string of words on renpy that will match a epic backdrop sound how do i make that?
while it is being read it cant be be clicked but can be skipped how do i do that?

mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#2 Post by mahyuringon »

please help

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3794
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
itch: Imperf3kt
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#3 Post by Imperf3kt »

We need more information to help. For example, if I tell you "I want to make the world's greatest game, plz help." do you think you know what I want?
You can just set a cps speed in the options (included as "text speed") and presto, 90% done. I think...
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#4 Post by mahyuringon »

Imperf3kt wrote:We need more information to help. For example, if I tell you "I want to make the world's greatest game, plz help." do you think you know what I want?
You can just set a cps speed in the options (included as "text speed") and presto, 90% done. I think...
yes i included the cps then what i want is that after on dialogue is done it automaticaly proceeds to the other next line which is like a prologue text appeal

mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#5 Post by mahyuringon »

Imperf3kt wrote:We need more information to help. For example, if I tell you "I want to make the world's greatest game, plz help." do you think you know what I want?
You can just set a cps speed in the options (included as "text speed") and presto, 90% done. I think...
sorry for the vague explaination and i cant give the right desriptions or details im not good with it

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3794
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
itch: Imperf3kt
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#6 Post by Imperf3kt »

It happens.

So am I right in assuminv you want this to be automatic?

Something like this may do the trick.

Code: Select all

show image
show text "some text"
$ renpy.pause(#seconds, hard=True)
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#7 Post by mahyuringon »

Imperf3kt wrote:It happens.

So am I right in assuminv you want this to be automatic?

Something like this may do the trick.

Code: Select all

show image
show text "some text"
$ renpy.pause(#seconds, hard=True)
yes automatic

mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#8 Post by mahyuringon »

Imperf3kt wrote:It happens.

So am I right in assuminv you want this to be automatic?

Something like this may do the trick.

Code: Select all

show image
show text "some text"
$ renpy.pause(#seconds, hard=True)
okay then next how would like for example after the sound ended it would automatically call the next scene is it possible?

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3794
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
itch: Imperf3kt
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#9 Post by Imperf3kt »

That's what the hard pause is for.
show text will automatically go to the next line after a set time, I think it's 3 seconds by default.
By adding a hard pause, a user cannot skip and the screen won't advance until the seconds have gone by.

So if your sound file is 9 seconds long, set the pause to 9 seconds, or perhaps 10 seconds if you use a fade (fade is 0.5 seconds to black, then to next image. 1 second total)
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#10 Post by mahyuringon »

Imperf3kt wrote:That's what the hard pause is for.
show text will automatically go to the next line after a set time, I think it's 3 seconds by default.
By adding a hard pause, a user cannot skip and the screen won't advance until the seconds have gone by.

So if your sound file is 9 seconds long, set the pause to 9 seconds, or perhaps 10 seconds if you use a fade (fade is 0.5 seconds to black, then to next image. 1 second total)
okay thank you ill ask more if im in trouble

mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#11 Post by mahyuringon »

mahyuringon wrote:
Imperf3kt wrote:That's what the hard pause is for.
show text will automatically go to the next line after a set time, I think it's 3 seconds by default.
By adding a hard pause, a user cannot skip and the screen won't advance until the seconds have gone by.

So if your sound file is 9 seconds long, set the pause to 9 seconds, or perhaps 10 seconds if you use a fade (fade is 0.5 seconds to black, then to next image. 1 second total)
okay thank you ill ask more if im in trouble

how to make a character image shake not the screen but the Character image?

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3794
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
itch: Imperf3kt
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#12 Post by Imperf3kt »

You could use ATL for that.
The tutorial and documentation can help you understand ATL.

This is something I plan to get to myself, but currently haven't tried.
I'd suggest maybe define a character sprite in one position, then add a small pause (maybe 0.2 seconds) then give it a new position very close to the first and set it to repeat.
For some extra effect, you could maybe even add some wobbling effect via the rotate function with very smal increments (say, 2°)
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

mahyuringon
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#13 Post by mahyuringon »

why do i need to define this?
Untitled.png
Untitled2.png
Untitled1.png

it usually works but then there is another bug where when i press back button it keeps on looping back to the battle scene? how do i fix that? i made a flag points on the battle scene where if one battle scene is finished it would increment +1 but if defeat -1 it somehow affected the game when i press back it goes back to the battle scene. and when i save the game and load it it's save as the battle scene even though what i saved was not the battle scene...

User avatar
Saltome
Veteran
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:07 pm
Deviantart: saltome
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#14 Post by Saltome »

Okay, dude, slow down, you aren't even making sense right now.
BTW I'm pretty sure this has nothing to do with making your star-wars-esque wall of text. I'd actually try NVL mode for that.

You have a conditional check, checking if the value action_a is the same as the value of e_defeat.
You also have a label called action_a. I don't see a definition of e_defeat, so this might be a variable, or another label.
So basically what that branch translates to, to me is... If the label action_a equals e_defeat(variable?) do something. Which makes no logical sense.

I can already see multiple typos and awkward sentences. You should get someone to proofread it for you.

I can't even comment on your other issues without seeing relevant code.
Deviant Art: Image
Discord: saltome
Itch: Phoenix Start

User avatar
xavimat
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 8:45 pm
Completed: Yeshua, Jesus Life, Cops&Robbers
Projects: Fear&Love
Organization: Pilgrim Creations
Github: xavi-mat
itch: pilgrimcreations
Location: Spain
Discord: xavimat
Contact:

Re: how to make a continuous text?

#15 Post by xavimat »

I suggest you to study a bit closer your code and try to understand what are you telling it to do.
For example, there are some "return" statements immediately after "jump" statements. It seems to me that you are missing a very important concept: when the code reaches "jump" it will go to the label and never return to that point, so the "return" will never do nothing.
Comunidad Ren'Py en español: ¡Únete a nuestro Discord!
Rhaier Kingdom A Ren'Py Multiplayer Adventure Visual Novel.
Cops&Robbers A two-player experiment | Fear&Love Why can't we say I love you?
Honest Critique (Avatar made with Chibi Maker by ~gen8)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]