How do I create buttons?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Lutka

How do I create buttons?

#1 Post by Lutka »

Right, I know, I know, I'm dumb.

If you couldn't tell, I'm new here

Thing is, seemingly nowhere in these guides does it say how I'm to create buttons. What I came up with after googling for like 30 minutes is this:

button:
text "example"
action Jump("on_smile_1")

I'm not a complete noobie to this stuff though, so I know what this button is supposed to do; when you click the button that says "example" you will jump forward in the code to the point "on_smile_1". But that doesn't work. When I launch my project it brings up:

File "game/script.rpy", line 52: expected statement.
button:
^

File "game/script.rpy", line 55: expected statement.
button:
^

Which I think might have something to do with indentation, but I'm not sure considering how many different types of indentation I've tried on this damn thing

What I want is to have two or more buttons appear in the middle of the bottom of the screen side by side and clicking those (through the action property) will work just like choice menu buttons . It seems that buttons are easier to move around on the screen than choice menu buttons, which is why I want to use them. Unless one of you can tell me how I'm to move around choice menu buttons? They seem quite glued to the center of the screen.

Thanks

Lutka

Re: How do I create buttons?

#2 Post by Lutka »

Alrighto, so I kept messing around and there was in fact a spot I'd missed over in screens.rpy called style choice_vbox. Messing with the xalign and yalign there'll do ya.

Lutka