How would I implement a choice of 2 objects/gift system?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
patheticfallacy

How would I implement a choice of 2 objects/gift system?

#1 Post by patheticfallacy »

Hello!

I'm making a small game for a friend. I'm a much better artist than I am a programmer, so I attached a very quick MS Paint mockup of what I'm trying to do. (Please ignore the green halo around the teddy bear. I had to resize it and it had a silly.)
The player would come to a store, and have a choice between two items. The player would purchase one of the items and then, later, give this item to another character. This system would also repeat 3 times, and the items would change each time. For instance, picking between either a magazine or a lighter, and then next time, a chocolate bar or a candy cane. I thiiink I understand how to make the game remember the choices--with if/else statements, basically--but the code to put up this menu is confusing me. This could happen very easily in a text menu, so that's why I'd like to know how to make it as an image-based one. Theoretically, you would also have the option of neither of them, but I think that would come from before this menu would ever show up--just saying "No, I don't want to go to the store" and skipping it entirely. Also, while I'm not averse to having a viewable inventory, there's no need to have an inventory button or anything as... well, it's literally only two options and you never have any other items in your inventory.