Renpy Objective programming 101 help

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
shiza
Regular

Renpy Objective programming 101 help

#1 Post by shiza »

So I'm a software engineer who's take the next step in creating a visual novel. I've been sifting through the documentation and I have yet to see any class declarations or creating functions. Is it possible to use object orient programming in ren'py in regards to characters and their stats? I mean the space alone will be a benefit instead of having 10 variables that tell the same type of stat for 10 different characters.

For example every character has HP but I want to know what Bob's Hp is currently at. In java you would code a class called character with all the basic information (HP, MP, AP, etc) and create instances of that class and call it by the characters name. that way you can do something like Bob.get_HP() instead of clustering the programming file with 100's of declarations. So could anyone tell me or point me to any documentation about implementing object oriented programming in ren'py?

Also does anyone have any tips on file size management? I'm barely done creating a demo and I'm already past 1000 lines in my code. Essentially everything done in a single file which makes it a bit hard to manage when you create a full scale game.

Divona
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: The Falconers: Moonlight
Organization: Bionic Penguin
itch: bionicpenguin

Re: Renpy Objective programming 101 help

#2 Post by Divona »