Character creation menu (Stats)

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Ghuraok

Character creation menu (Stats)

#1 Post by Ghuraok »

Hello !

I'm very new to Ren'py and coding in general and I'd like to implement a basic stats system into my game. I would like the player to be able to create his own character and to set the stats with a menu.
I would like a menu with a name input, a minus and plus buttons, the stat's name and value, the remaining creation points and a continue button that only shows when the creation points are all used.
Something like this :
However, I have no idea how to get the buttons - and + to work in the following manner :
Button "+" adds 1 to a stat and removes 1 to the creationpoints value, it has a rule that disable it to prevent the stat value to go further 10 and below 0 for the creationpoints.
Button "-" removes 1 to a stat and adds one to the creationpoints value. + A rule that disable it to prevent the stat value to go below 1.

When it comes to events that add or remove stat points I made the following functions :

Code: Select all

init python:

def plus_stat(x,stat):
        if stat >= 10:
            stat = 10
        else:
            stat += x
            if stat >= 10:
            	stat = 10
        return stat

def minus_stat(x,stat):
	if stat <= 1:
		return stat
	else:
		stat -= x
		if stat <= 1:
			stat = 1
	return stat

strengh = 1

label start :
$ strength = plus_stat(2,strength)
"Strength : [strength]"
 output :
 "Strength : 3"
 $ strength = plus_stat(25,strength)
"Strength : [strength]"
 output :
 "Strength : 10"